Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: SLAMming blind? No test kit until next week

1. Back To Top    #1

SLAMming blind? No test kit until next week

Hey everyone, great forum. I've been digging through it for weeks, but this is my first post.&nbsp;<br><br>Being Canadian, I can't get the TF100 test kit here, so I'm having my brother send it to me from Michigan.It won't arrive for at least another 5 days, but I just couldn't look at the green slime pit of shame in my backyard anymore, so here's what I've done. (Oh, bought the house in the fall, this is my first year starting a pool):<br><br>Scooped out all the muck as best I could. Topped up the water, hooked up the pump / SWG etc. Added the only bag of salt I had handy to bring it to 2500 (I'll get more tomorrow) and started scrubbing the bottom to loosen the dead algae. I also added one gallon of concentrated bleach. Running the pump 24/7 backwashing as needed.&nbsp;<br><br>Now, I know I need to be testing the CC as the SLAM goes along, but since I can't do that for a few days, what would you recommend for someone flying blind like me, to either help clear it slowly, &nbsp;until the test kit gets here, or at least not make it any worse than it is. I'm not quite sure what the minimum amount of bleach I should use to limp it along until I can do some testing. PH and ALk tested ok with the strips I have, if that helps.&nbsp;<br><br>Thanks again, great place!
    20k Gallon Above ground, SWG - Hayward sand filter and pump.

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: SLAMming blind? No test kit until next week

Welcome to TFP!!!

Forget the salt as you will be backwashing often to clean up the pool. Do so when the pressure rises 20-25% over the clean pressure.

I would suggest just adding 1 bottle of bleach daily until you test kit arrives.
    Jason, TFP Moderator
    18k IG pebblesheen pool, Hayward ProLogic P4 w/ T-15 SWG, Pentair 1HP 2-speed Superflo, Hayward 6020 DE filter