I can't decide so help!

nlindelldc

LifeTime Supporter
Mar 21, 2015
Corpus Christi, Texas
Should I pay a leak detection service $800 to fix an underground repair below the concrete deck? It comes with a 5-year warranty. (I've already paid them $200 to find the leak).

OR

Should I let my completely incompetent PB attempt to fix it? (for free, under warranty--pool is about 6 months old) I've been calling them for 2 months almost daily to come and find this leak and they just now said they've gotten the time to do it.

American Leak Detection out of Houston is the company that came out and found the leak in a very timely fashion. They are scheduled to do the repair next week by digging under the deck with no concrete destruction.

If I decide to let the PB do it, it may take 2-3 months or more if his past history is any indication.

I'm not independently wealthy, I just have some savings saved up. I'm torn.

What would you do?

I wish that I could post a poll!

What a situation. It bugs the heck out of me when customer service comes to something like that. PB got their money, so "we'll get to it when we can get to it". Unfortunately, in many cases, you get what you pay for. I feel for you. I guess if the leak is not extremely bad, hold the PB's feet to the fire. Make them fix what they are liable for. In the future, if something goes bad again after the warranty, you can always call ALD back based on their excellent response and customer service. Just be up-front with ALD and thank them for their professionalism. The PB shouldn't be able to just walk away from this one.

Just an idea that *might* prompt the PB: Could you say you understand how busy they are, but you're losing money and enjoyment due to this leak and knowing how busy they are would they like to just pay the leak company the $800 to fix it for them?

<shrug> You never know?? :poke: