Cracked in ground pool steps-HELP!

Rondanick

Apr 20, 2016
Mount Juliet, TN
I am a total newbie. I bought a house with a pool that has sat for three years with no lovin. I am so happy to have found this forum!!! Lord knows I need all the help I can get. I'd like to thank everyone that replies with advice. Just reading the old threads has been very helpful.

I just found out that my cracked pool steps are not fiberglass but plastic. Just the top step is cracked and around the edge. I am in the process of replacing the liner. The Pool store says I need new stairs , that nothing will stick to it. A fiberglass repair guy told me he can resurface them for $1600 ( all the stairs) Someone else told me that's a waste of money and you can't put fiberglass on plastic. They want $8900 to install new steps. I just spent $3,000 on the liner. Has anyone repaired plastic steps with success? Should I just bite the bullet and replace the steps now since I'm already doing the liner.? They are ten years old.

Re: Hi Everyone

He says it will be VERY hard to make it stick and get it smooth. You can try but he is VERY worried it will not work and you will be out quite a bit of money. You will have to find a way to back fill the steps to keep this from happening again and you cannot really do that without taking the steps out.

I am so sorry :(

Kim:cat:

Thanks again Kim. I found this online about it.......