Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Cracked in ground pool steps-HELP!

1. Back To Top    #1

Cracked in ground pool steps-HELP!

I am a total newbie. I bought a house with a pool that has sat for three years with no lovin. I am so happy to have found this forum!!! Lord knows I need all the help I can get. I'd like to thank everyone that replies with advice. Just reading the old threads has been very helpful.

I just found out that my cracked pool steps are not fiberglass but plastic. Just the top step is cracked and around the edge. I am in the process of replacing the liner. The Pool store says I need new stairs , that nothing will stick to it. A fiberglass repair guy told me he can resurface them for $1600 ( all the stairs) Someone else told me that's a waste of money and you can't put fiberglass on plastic. They want $8900 to install new steps. I just spent $3,000 on the liner. Has anyone repaired plastic steps with success? Should I just bite the bullet and replace the steps now since I'm already doing the liner.? They are ten years old.
    Ronda

my pool is a 18x36 inground with Romans style ends. 8' deep with steel walls and a vinyl liner. 26,730 gallons

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: Hi Everyone

Ronda my husband, who has worked with fiberglass, says it is not worth it better to start over since you will already redoing the liner.

Kim
    TFP Moderator 33x52 round AG 25,600 gals Sand Filter 1.5hp Pump - 2 Speed, SLAM, Pool School, Recommended Levels, Recommended Chemicals, Pool Math, Chlorine/CYA Chart, TF-100 Test Kit

3. Back To Top    #3

Welcome to TFP! I hope your repairs go smoothly.
    Pat (a.k.a. Texas Splash) ~ My Pool: Viking Fiberglass; 17,888 Gal; Waterway Supreme 2-sp/2-hp pump; Hayward Ctg filter; TF-100 w/ Speed Stir
    Vital Links: POOL SCHOOL, RECOMMENDED LEVELS, RECOMMENDED CHEMICALS, Poolmath Calculator, SLAM, Chlorine/CYA CHART.
    If you enjoyed your TFP experience, please consider donating to Support TFP!