Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Pentair Automation Programming Lost After Power Surge??

  1. Back To Top    #1

    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Location
    Fort Worth, Texas
    Posts
    19

    Pentair Automation Programming Lost After Power Surge??

    As a new pool owner I was excited that my pool came with an Pentair automation system. This should make it easier for the newbie, right?
    Things were going along just fine for 6 months. Then a rather large thunderstorm came through. Power was lost in the whole house.
    When checking on the pool it appeared that the pump was coming on at the wrong time. Simple fix. Set it to the correct time.
    Wow, that was easy. Or so I thought.

    I grab my EasyTouch remote and select spa. Green light on remote. Nothing appeared to be changing. So, I go back to the equipment
    to take a look. The valves did not change from Pool to Spa. The heater, MiniMax NT, did begin its start up cycle.

    Not knowing if this is a power outage issue or user induced issue, how would I go about checking the programming of that button?

    Thank you in advance for your assistance.

  2. Back To Top    #2

    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Location
    Riverside California
    Posts
    473

    Re: Pentair Automation Programming Lost After Power Surge??

    Try pressing the RESET button on the front of the Easy Touch panel.
    38000 Gal, IG, Plaster, 20' x 40' x 10', Attached Raised Spa, Intelliflo VS 3 HP (011018), Pentair Quad DE 60 Filter, Raypak (Rheem) 400,000 BTU (407a low Nox), Easy Touch 8 upgrade, Screenlogic 2 with wireless, IS-4 Spa Side Remote, Stenner 45MPHP10 w/15 gal tank, Intellibrite 5g (3), Dolphin Triton Plus robot with PRO remote, Water Tech Catfish handheld vacuum for spa, TF100 with SpeedStir.

  3. Back To Top    #3

    In the Industry
    Pool Clown's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Silicon Valley, CA
    Posts
    1,636

    Re: Pentair Automation Programming Lost After Power Surge??

    First, open the box outside at the equipment and look at the small low voltage circuit breakers located in the upper right corner of the box to see if the one labeled "valves" has tripped. A tripped breaker will show a small white box, and will look like the tab has popped out about a 1/4 of an inch or so. If it has popped out, just push it back in, and try putting into spa mode again, checking again for actuator rotation.

    If the breaker had not tripped...

    There are small switches (toggle) on the actuators themselves. They are three position switches with the center position being off. Move the switch from where it is to the other side past the off setting to the third position. does the actuator begin to move then? If so, put the switch back to where it was and do the same for the other valve actuator remembering to return the switch back to it's original position when done. If you can rotate them manually, but not from the panel, there is something up with the automation, either a defect, or a setting.

    If neither of those tests resolve the problem, you need to check to see if the valves are still assigned to the system, or rather if the system is still seeing the actuators.
    Factory Warranty Station for:
    Jandy/Zodiac, Pentair, Sta-Rite, Raypak, Polaris,
    and Paramount pool cleaning systems.

  4. Back To Top    #4
    JoyfulNoise's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    Posts
    11,586

    Re: Pentair Automation Programming Lost After Power Surge??

    In the future, I suggest you install one of these of your ET panel -

    Amazon.com: Square D by Schneider Electric HEPD80 Home Electronics Protective Device: Home Improvement

    They are very easy to install (requires a 2-pole, 20A circuit breaker like this - Square D by Schneider Electric HOM220CP Homeline 20 Amp Two-Pole Circuit Breaker - - Amazon.com) and it will protect the delicate electronics in the panel (as well as any pumps run from the panel) for a surge up to 80,000 Amps. The unit protects against over-voltage line fluctuations (L-N >150V or L-L >300V and the unit starts to conduct power away). For $100 and about 30-mins DIY install, it's super-cheap insurance for protecting your equipment (considering a Pentair ET panel costs ~$1,000).

    Just a suggestion.
    Matt
    16k IG PebbleTec pool, 650gal spa, spillway and waterfall, 3HP IntelliFlo VS / 1.5HP WhisperFlo, Pentair QuadDE-100 filter, IC40 SWCG, MasterTemp 400k BTU/hr NG heater, KreepyKrauly suction-side cleaner Dolphin S300i robot, EasyTouch controls, city water, K-1001, K-2006 and K-1766 test kits, Mannitol test for borates

  5. Back To Top    #5

    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Location
    Fort Worth, Texas
    Posts
    19

    Re: Pentair Automation Programming Lost After Power Surge??

    Quote Originally Posted by gary300 View Post
    Try pressing the RESET button on the front of the Easy Touch panel.
    I was always a little nervous about pressing RESET as I thought it would wipe out all the programming. Such as the water features and such.

    Nothing to worry about it. I press RESET and all is back to normal.

    To the other kind responders. I did check all the breakers and all was well. That is why I was sort of a loss for what happened that caused all this.

    Thank you again to everyone.

  6. Back To Top    #6

    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Location
    Riverside California
    Posts
    473

    Re: Pentair Automation Programming Lost After Power Surge??

    The RESET button just restarts the microprocessor in the Easy Touch. It does the same thing as removing and restoring power. The programming data is held in some form of non-volatile RAM so that if power is lost you will not lose your programming data.

    As Matt stated, please install a surge protector to protect your not so cheap automation system and other electronic items in your house.
    38000 Gal, IG, Plaster, 20' x 40' x 10', Attached Raised Spa, Intelliflo VS 3 HP (011018), Pentair Quad DE 60 Filter, Raypak (Rheem) 400,000 BTU (407a low Nox), Easy Touch 8 upgrade, Screenlogic 2 with wireless, IS-4 Spa Side Remote, Stenner 45MPHP10 w/15 gal tank, Intellibrite 5g (3), Dolphin Triton Plus robot with PRO remote, Water Tech Catfish handheld vacuum for spa, TF100 with SpeedStir.

  7. Back To Top    #7

    In the Industry
    Pool Clown's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Silicon Valley, CA
    Posts
    1,636

    Re: Pentair Automation Programming Lost After Power Surge??

    Quote Originally Posted by gary300 View Post
    The programming data is held in some form of non-volatile RAM so that if power is lost you will not lose your programming data.
    Written to EEPROM memory. One good thing about this menu tree is that it is set up to ask you several times before you are about to clear the memory, making it pretty hard to mistakenly erase the EEPROM.
    Factory Warranty Station for:
    Jandy/Zodiac, Pentair, Sta-Rite, Raypak, Polaris,
    and Paramount pool cleaning systems.

  8. Back To Top    #8

    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Location
    Fort Worth, Texas
    Posts
    19

    Re: Pentair Automation Programming Lost After Power Surge??

    I am so thankful to have found this forum. Straight up answers with some supporting detail. Could not be happier. Maybe this summer with be a little more fun for me with the pool as it appears that I have found my source to reduce my stress.

  9. Back To Top    #9
    twinkiesmommy2009's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Location
    Cypress
    Posts
    1,679

    Re: Pentair Automation Programming Lost After Power Surge??

    This forum IS pretty awesome!!


    Started 5/31/16. 38'x23', 618 sqft., <14,000 gallons, 8' spa.Travertine coping. Raised beam w/3 sheers. Large sunshelf w/3 bubblers. SWG IC40, Pentair VSP, 520 cartridge, color LED lights, Easy-touch, screen logic, Maytronics S300i robot, and Wet Edge Prism Matrix finish (Deep Sea Blue with Indigo plaster). Build Thread: Another in Texas - Cypress Texas | MUD District | HOA Approval | Great Escapes Pools

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •