Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: attic pex heat?

1. Back To Top    #1

attic pex heat?

Hi, I'm new to TFP thanks for having me. Here's my problem. Heat is expensive, I'm very close to running 1,000 feet of 1" pex in my attic for heat in spring. Minnesota is not favorable for swimming in late April. I will not do solar or radiator type heat. ANY thoughts or help would be appreciated.
    Thanks.
    28,000 gallon pool

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: attic pex heat?

Welcome to TFP!

Good luck! I've never heard of anything like that. Should be interesting to see if it works.
    TFP Moderator
    If TFP helped you or saved you money - Become a TFP Supporter! <--Click here
    2012 build and pics, 20k gal gunite, black onyx pebblesheen, OK flagstone, IntellifoVS, cart filter w/Pleatco, IC40 SWG, Solartouch, 5 12'x4' solar panels, HP50HA heat pump, 8mil solar cover, borates, TF-100 test kit, SONOS, Doheny's Discovery Robot, hot tub on bleach

3. Back To Top    #3

Welcome to TFP!!!

There are some commercial systems that do something similar.

I have to wonder though if you would add more heat to the pool having the pex (or poly) laying out in the sun or in a warm attic.
    I think you are going to be disappointed in the impact on your pool.

The problem is that when the attic is the warmest is often when you do not need to add heat to the pool.
    Jason, TFP Moderator
    18k IG pebblesheen pool, Hayward ProLogic P4 w/ T-15 SWG, Pentair 1HP 2-speed Superflo, Hayward 6020 DE filter
    500 sqft Heliocol solar panels, ThePoolCleaner, TF-100 test kit w/ SpeedStir
    Pool School + Test Kit + PoolMath = A TROUBLE FREE POOL
    If you found TFP helpful and we saved you money ... Become a TFP Supporter!

4. Back To Top    #4

So just to be clear you plan to run the pool water post filter through 1000 ft of pec coiled in the attic which will pick up the heat from below. The water would then run into the pool.

Is that the plan?