Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Do I Need A Check Valve & What's That Brass Thing???

1. Back To Top    #1

Do I Need A Check Valve & What's That Brass Thing???

pool equipment pad.jpg We have just finished building our pool and I have a question about our equipment. Between the heat pump and the salt cell there is a brass(?) thing and a flow a flow switch. What is the brass thing? Do I need it? Also, shouldn't there be a check valve where that brass thing is? Sorry to sound vague and dense but I am really new to this.
    36K gal IG Diamondbrite, IntelliFlo VSOM 3HP Pump, Clean & Clear Plus Cartridge Filter, HeatPro 140K BTU Heat Pump, AquaRite AQR15 SWG, Built 1/16-4/16, no H20 restrictions; Hotspring Limelight Flair 310 gal hot tub

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: Do I Need A Check Valve & What's That Brass Thing???

I am an old man that can't see. All I see is a brass blur. Could you give me a closeup.

I don't think you need a checkvalve. The SWG generates limited amounts of chlorine its unlikely to harm the heat pump.
    22k gallon IG pebblefina, Jandy 1.5 HP VS, Jandy CV Cartridge filter, Fafco solar panels, Polaris 360 supply side cleaner, waterfall

3. Back To Top    #3

image.jpgHere is a close up. Is that copper? brass? thing related to bonding/grounding? A green wire runs from the grass to the pump/motor to the sacrificial zinc anode then to this mystery part then to the heat pump.
    36K gal IG Diamondbrite, IntelliFlo VSOM 3HP Pump, Clean & Clear Plus Cartridge Filter, HeatPro 140K BTU Heat Pump, AquaRite AQR15 SWG, Built 1/16-4/16, no H20 restrictions; Hotspring Limelight Flair 310 gal hot tub

4. Back To Top    #4

14k gal IG vinyl, Jandy Flopro 1 hp up-rated, 2 spd pump, Hayward 325 sq ft cartridge filter, Circupool Si-40 SWCG

5. Back To Top    #5

Yep. Anode.