Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: First pool and in puerto vallarta no less!

1. Back To Top    #1

First pool and in puerto vallarta no less!

Im new to pool ownership. We purchased a house in vallarta that came with a tiled concrete 5000 gaĺlon pool. I have a friend helping me now but his knowledge is limited as weĺl.
    I purchased a cheap 2 part test kit but now have a 5 part kit coming. The pool is in fuĺl vallarta sun most of The day and so far we are trying to get chlorine level up.
    I purchased a big drum of powder chlorine, acid powder and a water clarifier to be used sparingly once we get balance and clearity all sorted..hopefully we wont need it but there is alot of fine pollen and city dust seasonally .
    Lņoking forward to getting helping here and contributing when I can!
    Thanks and heĺlo all!
    G and a

Pool 4800 gaĺlon tiled concrete
    Hayward sand filter S166t.
    Pool Pump Silver10/1115 1hp
    Heat siphon Sx3.25hp

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: First pool and in puerto vallarta no less!

Hello and welcome to TFP! Perhaps the best thing you could do right now is brush-up on our TFP Pool School page (link below in my sig). There you will receive some very essential information related to pool care. Also in my link below are TFP-Recommended Chemicals and Levels to help maintain your pool. If your test kit has a way of testing CYA, you'll want to know that as well so you know how much chlorine the pool should have. Those two items (FC and CYA) go together as you can see on the Chlorine/CYA Chart link below.

Take a look around, and pleas let us know if you have any questions. Have a nice weekend.
    Pat (a.k.a. Texas Splash) ~ My Pool: Viking Fiberglass; 17,888 Gal; Waterway Supreme 2-sp/2-hp pump; Hayward Ctg filter; TF-100 w/ Speed Stir
    Vital Links: POOL SCHOOL, RECOMMENDED LEVELS, RECOMMENDED CHEMICALS, Poolmath Calculator, SLAM, Chlorine/CYA CHART.