Pentair Intellichlor IC-20 or IC-40?

Apr 27, 2016
Tampa
I am installing a new pool and the PB's proposal includes an IC-20 Pentair Intellichlor salt sanitization system. My pool is approximately 10,000 gallons. I have read that some people recommend upgrading to the IC-40 even with a small pool. Can you all please provide your input? What are the pros and cons of the IC-20 vs an IC-40 with my size pool? I am in Central Florida if that matters. Thanks to all!

The ic20 produces about 0.7lbs chlorine per day. That's about 8.4ppm FC per day or 0.35ppm/hr. If you assumed a worst-case scenario FC loss rate of 4ppm/day, then you'd need to run your pump ~ 11.4hrs/day to generate enough chlorine to replace the loss.

And IC-40 produced twice as much as the ic20. So you worst case pump run time would be 5.7hrs/day.

Matt - thank you for the response, and sorry for not providing the required information (I am new at all of this. but trying to learn). The proposed pool will have the following: VSP Variable speed 3HP pump by Sta Rite Industries, and 200GPM Cartridge filter by Sta Rite Industries. Does that change anything?

I would suggest getting the EasyTouch automation with the IC40 cell. The automation allows for fine tune control and makes sure that the variable speed pump works well with the IntelliChlor.

Matt - thank you for the response, and sorry for not providing the required information (I am new at all of this. but trying to learn). The proposed pool will have the following: VSP Variable speed 3HP pump by Sta Rite Industries, and 200GPM Cartridge filter by Sta Rite Industries. Does that change anything?

Since Pentair basically owns Sta-Rite, is there a reason the PB is using Sta-Rite equipment over Pentair?