Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Chlorine staying up

1. Back To Top    #1

Chlorine staying up

Hello all,

I am new to the pool scene and have a question.

Our pool builder put too much CYA (110 ppm) at the start up and we had trouble holding chlorine and the pool turned milky. We drained down to get the CYA down and to try to get the pool balanced.

I have not had the opportunity to get lab readings, but I did a few tests of our own.

CYA: ~50-45 ppm
    FC: 15
    CC: 0

Since the plaster is fairly new he said not to bother testing for Alk for over a year. I am skeptical. We have a blue stained plaster.

Our chlorine after refill was over over 20, but dropped to 15 ppm and has stayed there over a week with out additional chlorine (tab feeder is off). We have had 90 degree sunny days.

Every time I check I have to add about 2 cups of MA which I understand is common with 3 month old plaster.

I have a separate question about the Taylor ph test in the TF_100 kit. Does it have anything to neutralize the chlorine? Our other test kit does and maybe I haven't taken the time to find it in this kit.

Thank you in advance.

Bobby Sullivan
    10K gal, Colored Plaster, 2 HP Pentair Whisperflo pump, Pentair Quad DE filter, Paramount in-floor cleaning system w/2HP Pentair Whisperflo pump.

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: Chlorine staying up

With new plaster, you should not normally adjust either TA or CH for the first six to eight weeks after the plaster was applied. After that it is good to test and adjust the levels more or less normally, keeping in mind that TA and CH will both continue to rise slowly from the plaster curing for up to a year.

With CYA over 100 you might not be able to tell if FC was falling, but with CYA around 50 you should be losing at least 30% of your FC level each sunny day, and probably more.