Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Deck Stain HELP

1. Back To Top    #1

Deck Stain HELP

So I have searched and read and read. I found a few sites that recommend TWP stain, but after digging, the websites are a fake and ran by the parent company of TWP stains.

My neighbor owns a paint/stain store and he used to recommend Sikkens, but now he switched to Benjamin Moore Arborcoat. Again, i read some horrible reviews on the BM stain.

Sikkens seems to be the most consistent with good reviews. Any thoughts???? What worked, what didnt, what would you buy again, what would you never touch again?

I'm gonna need like 7 gallons of this stuff for the floor.

Thanks,
    24'x54" 15k AG round - Outback Genesis
    1 1/2hp Hayward Matrix 2 speed. Hayward 180T Sand Filter
    TF-100 Test Kit
    Pool School & TF-100
    How to SLAM

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: Deck Stain HELP

I've been using Benjamin Moore Arborcoat (in solid) for 5 years with excellent results. I've used it on my privacy fence, railings and 5/4 treated decks. I've never had an issue with it peeling, etc. unless the wood has cracked open from natural movement. Once the wood opens up and soaks in water, nothing will hold on. I just bought a gallon for $46.

3. Back To Top    #3

I like Sikkens and Cabots. Lowes dropped Cabots (or vice versa) for a while but it is back now.
    TFP Moderator
    If TFP helped you or saved you money - Become a TFP Supporter! <--Click here
    2012 build and pics, 20k gal gunite, black onyx pebblesheen, OK flagstone, IntellifoVS, cart filter w/Pleatco, IC40 SWG, Solartouch, 5 12'x4' solar panels, HP50HA heat pump, 8mil solar cover, borates, TF-100 test kit, SONOS, Doheny's Discovery Robot, hot tub on bleach

4. Back To Top    #4

All I ever use is Rymar semi transparent stain. Strong smell when first put down but lasts about 4 years easily. Sherman Williams carries it now.