Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 22

Thread: Compupool water fault

  1. Back To Top    #1
    x2rider's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Bartlesville, OK
    Posts
    212

    Compupool water fault

    Another year, anther problem with compupool. Water fault from the start. Called them, they sent me a troubleshooting procedure which did nothing. I guess I'll be filing yet another claim.

    Thinking about going with an aqua rite because I don't want to wait till next season to get a replacement if the do approve it.

    I've spent enough in bleach during the ownership of this compupool unit to buy another unit or at least 2/3.

    Any other ideas I can try?

    Salt level ~3600 (test strip, will test again with my Taylor kit)

    Cya 40
    Ph 7.2
    Ta 90
    Chlorine level this morning 0, brought it up to 16

    Just opened it yesterday, didn't turn the SWG in until late evening after putting in bleach, acid and stabilizer that morning.




    27000 gal 18x36 rectangle In-Ground built in 1978
    Vinyl liner, 3/4hp Hayward Super pump, single speed 3450rpm
    SWG: Hayward Aquarite AQR15
    Sand Filter: 300 pound sta-rite T-240BP-1, 3.14 sqft surface area
    K-2006 Test kit

  2. Back To Top    #2
    sargent's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    Tulsa, OK
    Posts
    291

    Re: Compupool water fault

    I'm not familiar with the Compupool, but could the water fault be lack of flow? Perhaps you have a bad flow switch. I had to do that this spring, and it got me back going with my Circupool SWG.
    14k gal IG vinyl, Jandy Flopro 1 hp up-rated, 2 spd pump, Hayward 325 sq ft cartridge filter, Circupool Si-40 SWCG

  3. Back To Top    #3
    x2rider's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Bartlesville, OK
    Posts
    212

    Re: Compupool water fault

    It has tremendous amounts of flow. I'm not sure how they detect flow because there's not a n external switch, its internal to the cell


    27000 gal 18x36 rectangle In-Ground built in 1978
    Vinyl liner, 3/4hp Hayward Super pump, single speed 3450rpm
    SWG: Hayward Aquarite AQR15
    Sand Filter: 300 pound sta-rite T-240BP-1, 3.14 sqft surface area
    K-2006 Test kit

  4. Back To Top    #4
    x2rider's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Bartlesville, OK
    Posts
    212

    Re: Compupool water fault

    Cell is all sealed, no way to open it to troubleshoot a switch.




    27000 gal 18x36 rectangle In-Ground built in 1978
    Vinyl liner, 3/4hp Hayward Super pump, single speed 3450rpm
    SWG: Hayward Aquarite AQR15
    Sand Filter: 300 pound sta-rite T-240BP-1, 3.14 sqft surface area
    K-2006 Test kit

  5. Back To Top    #5
    x2rider's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Bartlesville, OK
    Posts
    212

    Re: Compupool water fault

    Flow




    27000 gal 18x36 rectangle In-Ground built in 1978
    Vinyl liner, 3/4hp Hayward Super pump, single speed 3450rpm
    SWG: Hayward Aquarite AQR15
    Sand Filter: 300 pound sta-rite T-240BP-1, 3.14 sqft surface area
    K-2006 Test kit

  6. Back To Top    #6
    sargent's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    Tulsa, OK
    Posts
    291

    Re: Compupool water fault

    Here is what the manual says for troubleshooting. It looks like your flow is good, and you say your salt level is good. Maybe there is something messed up with your cable or cable connection.

    Water Fault LED on.
    Insufficient or no water flow through cell.
    - Check that the pump is operating correctly and turns on and off with the chlorine generator with the timer.
    - Ensure that pump strainer baskets are not clogged.
    - Check that all valves are opened correctly. Check for any blockages.
    - Clean or backwash filter if dirty.
    Pump speed too low (for multi speed pumps)
    - Increase the pump speed to ensure consistent and sufficient water flow through the Cell.
    No salt in pool water.
    - Add salt to pool water to reach required level of 3000-4000ppm (3500 ideal), see Table 1.
    Cell Cable not connected to Power Module.
    - Check that the Cell Cable connector is correctly fitted to the Power Module receptacle and the locking collar is tightened firmly.
    Damaged Cell Cable.
    - Check that the Cell Cable has not been damaged.
    Very cold pool water.
    - If the pool water is below 45 Fahrenheit, chlorine production will cease and the Water Fault LED will turn on. The pool should be winterized (see section 10.4)
    14k gal IG vinyl, Jandy Flopro 1 hp up-rated, 2 spd pump, Hayward 325 sq ft cartridge filter, Circupool Si-40 SWCG

  7. Back To Top    #7
    x2rider's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Bartlesville, OK
    Posts
    212

    Compupool water fault

    Well look what I came home to tonight!

    No more red light, I did nothing. Temperature was 65, it's 68 now.




    27000 gal 18x36 rectangle In-Ground built in 1978
    Vinyl liner, 3/4hp Hayward Super pump, single speed 3450rpm
    SWG: Hayward Aquarite AQR15
    Sand Filter: 300 pound sta-rite T-240BP-1, 3.14 sqft surface area
    K-2006 Test kit

  8. Back To Top    #8


    TFP Guide

    cowboycasey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Fletcher, OK
    Posts
    3,346

    Re: Compupool water fault

    it was probably complaining about water temp but who knows, at least its working now
    Pool: Intex 16x32 15000 gal, 2 speed 340042, Pentair CC320 Filter, CircuPool SJ45 Salt System, Intermatic PE653RC; Hot Tub: 650 Gal SWG Megachlor
    links: pool school * Recommended-Levels * SLAM * CYA chart * Test kits * How To Post Pictures * Poolmath * OCLT ** Support your website if we helped you :) **

  9. Back To Top    #9

    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Location
    West Islip
    Posts
    1

    Re: Compupool water fault

    Quote Originally Posted by x2rider View Post
    Another year, anther problem with compupool. Water fault from the start. Called them, they sent me a troubleshooting procedure which did nothing. I guess I'll be filing yet another claim.

    Thinking about going with an aqua rite because I don't want to wait till next season to get a replacement if the do approve it.

    I've spent enough in bleach during the ownership of this compupool unit to buy another unit or at least 2/3.

    Any other ideas I can try?

    Salt level ~3600 (test strip, will test again with my Taylor kit)

    Cya 40
    Ph 7.2
    Ta 90
    Chlorine level this morning 0, brought it up to 16

    Just opened it yesterday, didn't turn the SWG in until late evening after putting in bleach, acid and stabilizer that morning.




    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

    I'm having the same problem. This is my third or fourth year with my Circupool and its been anything BUT trouble free. Seriously thinking about tossing the whole thing and either buying another brand or going back to chlorine. I've had the whole unit replaced a year ago and still problems. Just seems like a lot of work and a LOT of shock to keep my salt pool clear.

  10. Back To Top    #10
    bobodaclown's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Lakeland, FL
    Posts
    2,351

    Re: Compupool water fault

    Check your pin connector going to the power supply. Make sure they're not charred and connection is tight. I used to recommend them, but find it difficult now to do so.
    17K Kidney Shaped Pool Concrete (Diamond Bright) Pool, 3/4 hp 2 speed 115V Sta-rite Duraglas PEA5D-180L/P2R5D-181L (Impeller C105-92PS Diffuser C1-216P), 1.5 piping, Pentair CC100 Filter , Heat Siphon 100K BTU Heat Pump Pool Heater, Flow meter Blue White Flowmeter Model No. F-30150P, Hayward Astrolight SP0581N, SWCG CalimarTitanium Edition TE45 , Dolphin Nautilus Plus with CleverClean, Lakeland Florida

  11. Back To Top    #11


    TFP Guide

    cowboycasey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Fletcher, OK
    Posts
    3,346

    Re: Compupool water fault

    Quote Originally Posted by Popsarocker View Post
    I'm having the same problem. This is my third or fourth year with my Circupool and its been anything BUT trouble free. Seriously thinking about tossing the whole thing and either buying another brand or going back to chlorine. I've had the whole unit replaced a year ago and still problems. Just seems like a lot of work and a LOT of shock to keep my salt pool clear.
    Compupool have been going downhill and dying, some are still going but most of the time we see people coming here with dead SWG's.. on a good note, The Curcupool's are doing very good now...
    Pool: Intex 16x32 15000 gal, 2 speed 340042, Pentair CC320 Filter, CircuPool SJ45 Salt System, Intermatic PE653RC; Hot Tub: 650 Gal SWG Megachlor
    links: pool school * Recommended-Levels * SLAM * CYA chart * Test kits * How To Post Pictures * Poolmath * OCLT ** Support your website if we helped you :) **

  12. Back To Top    #12
    prosper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Taxachusetts
    Posts
    57

    Re: Compupool water fault

    Dang it!

    Mine is doing the same thing.

    Noticed the water looked a little off. Water fault light on and "no water" on LCD.

    Removed, cleaned and replaced the cell. Same.
    Salt is 2800ppm. Water temp is 90.

    Removed/Reinstalled Cell connection to head unit. Same.

    Argh.
    35k gallon 20x45 inground concrete with vinyl liner - Stamped Concrete deck
    Pentair WhisperFlo 2HP - Pentair FNS Plus 60 DE
    Heat Siphon heat pump - Compupool cpx48
    Blue Diamond RC robot vacuum - TF100 testkit

  13. Back To Top    #13
    prosper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Taxachusetts
    Posts
    57

    Re: Compupool water fault

    Called CompuPool and they said I needed to replace the Display Board.
    They let me know I am out of warranty, but could purchase the part for $130 from an online pool store.
    I asked, "what if that doesn't fix it?"
    They replied, "my symptoms are text book for bad Display Board".

    So, I am going to buy the Display Board and replace it.

    The CompuPool choice has been a real pain in the rear for me. Haven't made it through a full season yet.
    35k gallon 20x45 inground concrete with vinyl liner - Stamped Concrete deck
    Pentair WhisperFlo 2HP - Pentair FNS Plus 60 DE
    Heat Siphon heat pump - Compupool cpx48
    Blue Diamond RC robot vacuum - TF100 testkit

  14. Back To Top    #14
    prosper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Taxachusetts
    Posts
    57

    Re: Compupool water fault

    CompuPool changed their mind on what was needed to fix this issue. Power Board instead of Display Board. Will post results in case it helps the "next guy".
    35k gallon 20x45 inground concrete with vinyl liner - Stamped Concrete deck
    Pentair WhisperFlo 2HP - Pentair FNS Plus 60 DE
    Heat Siphon heat pump - Compupool cpx48
    Blue Diamond RC robot vacuum - TF100 testkit

  15. Back To Top    #15
    prosper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Taxachusetts
    Posts
    57

    Re: Compupool water fault

    CPX48.jpg

    Took apart the unit to replace the PCB and it is obvious I need a ribbon cable too. It burned up.
    35k gallon 20x45 inground concrete with vinyl liner - Stamped Concrete deck
    Pentair WhisperFlo 2HP - Pentair FNS Plus 60 DE
    Heat Siphon heat pump - Compupool cpx48
    Blue Diamond RC robot vacuum - TF100 testkit

  16. Back To Top    #16
    bobodaclown's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Lakeland, FL
    Posts
    2,351

    Re: Compupool water fault

    Wow. Hope you send them that picture!
    17K Kidney Shaped Pool Concrete (Diamond Bright) Pool, 3/4 hp 2 speed 115V Sta-rite Duraglas PEA5D-180L/P2R5D-181L (Impeller C105-92PS Diffuser C1-216P), 1.5 piping, Pentair CC100 Filter , Heat Siphon 100K BTU Heat Pump Pool Heater, Flow meter Blue White Flowmeter Model No. F-30150P, Hayward Astrolight SP0581N, SWCG CalimarTitanium Edition TE45 , Dolphin Nautilus Plus with CleverClean, Lakeland Florida

  17. Back To Top    #17
    prosper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Taxachusetts
    Posts
    57

    Re: Compupool water fault

    I did send the picture to them. The ribbon cable is attached to the display board and requires a special tool to remove it.
    So, they are shipping a Display Board with ribbon cable on Monday.

    The ribbon cable got fried by the coil on the Power Board.
    I'll be sure to make sure the cable does not route over the coil when I install the replacement one.

    Another week without the chlorinator. Argh!
    35k gallon 20x45 inground concrete with vinyl liner - Stamped Concrete deck
    Pentair WhisperFlo 2HP - Pentair FNS Plus 60 DE
    Heat Siphon heat pump - Compupool cpx48
    Blue Diamond RC robot vacuum - TF100 testkit

  18. Back To Top    #18

    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Allentown, PA
    Posts
    219

    Re: Compupool water fault

    I have one of these units. A couple tips I have found. I use dielectrical grease at the connections from the wire to cell to make sure there is excellent contact any oxidation causes impedance. I clean those contacts before every season and reapply dielectrical grease. Also because the unit gets hot do not mount it on a wall or house, I have mine on a shaded 4X4 post which I believe allows more air to circulate around the unit and keep it from overheating. One other thing that I do is not run the unit over 70% if I can help it. The higher the percentage the more heat the unit develops possibly leading to an overheating related problem. This is my 4th season with this unit and it has been working well. From time to time it may read over salt, but it keeps producing well, so I leave good enough alone. Also if you are waiting on parts it can take FOREVER from Compupool. And to leave you with something interesting the Circupool RJ60 Plus appears to be a great (High Output) unit from everything I have read and the reviews on here. Thoughts?
    21,500 Gallon Vinyl liner pool Eastern Pennsylvania
    Hayward 2 HP pump 2" Pvc pipes Full Sun Pool
    Hayward sand filter, Compupool CPSC 48 SWG
    12mil solar cover and reel

  19. Back To Top    #19
    x2rider's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Bartlesville, OK
    Posts
    212

    Re: Compupool water fault

    Guess who's back? Yes, the infamous no water indicator.

    Salt had fallen to 2800, so I put 4 bags in bringing it up to 3600, cleaned out the basket in the pump, and rinsed the cell with the water hose. Cell plates look brand new, no scaling, wire connection is not corroded.




    27000 gal 18x36 rectangle In-Ground built in 1978
    Vinyl liner, 3/4hp Hayward Super pump, single speed 3450rpm
    SWG: Hayward Aquarite AQR15
    Sand Filter: 300 pound sta-rite T-240BP-1, 3.14 sqft surface area
    K-2006 Test kit

  20. Back To Top    #20
    prosper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Taxachusetts
    Posts
    57

    Re: Compupool water fault

    Hope your problem goes away on its own since CompuPool is out of business in the USA. No more Jason to help all of us poor saps.
    35k gallon 20x45 inground concrete with vinyl liner - Stamped Concrete deck
    Pentair WhisperFlo 2HP - Pentair FNS Plus 60 DE
    Heat Siphon heat pump - Compupool cpx48
    Blue Diamond RC robot vacuum - TF100 testkit

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •