Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: Any way to have budget automation/remote control

  1. Back To Top    #1

    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Location
    Murrieta, CA
    Posts
    5

    Any way to have budget automation/remote control

    I have a pool, pentair easy touch remote. However is there any easy/not super expensive way to add remote control over it. I dont actually need all the functions of the equipment, really I would just love to be able to turn on the spa from my iphone when we are out- and be able to come home to a hot spa when we know we want to get in it.

    So any easy-ish way to add remote on/off of spa?

    I have seen the screenlogic and autilis systems... which may be what I end up needing to get, just figured I would ask those smarter then me if there was an easier way since I really only want simple off/on control.

    Thanks for any ideas.

  2. Back To Top    #2
    Mod Squad Jimrahbe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    Bedford, TX
    Posts
    5,349

    Re: Any way to have budget automation/remote control

    Toast,

    The only logical choice is Screen Logic 2. I recently installed it and it is a night and day improvement for the EasyTouch. You can simply click an icon and make your system do what you want.

    Kit 522104 comes with the protocol adapter and wireless system and costs about $370 at Sunplay.

    Jim R.
    Finished in 2015 - 17K Gal, IG, 20' x 25' Almost Rectangular Pool, Pebble finish, three rockport water falls. Pentair Equipment: EasyTouch 4, IC40 SWG, 3 HP VS Pump, CCP520 Cartridge Filter.
    TF100 with SpeedStir and SampleSizer, ColorQ Pro 7, Dolphin Premier Robot Cleaner, added Screen Logic 2, added small 3 person Calder Spa.

  3. Back To Top    #3

    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Location
    Murrieta, CA
    Posts
    5

    Re: Any way to have budget automation/remote control

    Thanks for the reply.

    It it that difficult of an install? Does it have wifi or do I need to run Cat 5 cable out to the pool equipment from my router?

    Apprecaite the info

  4. Back To Top    #4
    Mod Squad YippeeSkippy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    'burbs of Augusta, Georgia
    Posts
    6,491

    Re: Any way to have budget automation/remote control

    I believe he said it comes with the wireless system.
    My Amazon Smile for November12K Fiberglass IG, Infinity 4000 automatic cover, SWCG, Hayward Sand Filter, Hayward 1.5 Pump, Doheny Discovery Robot, Savi Melody LED pool lights, outdoor speakers and other assorted doo-dads. Sundance Altamar Hot Tub.
    Our pool build--> Our Pool Solved Our Sloping Yard Skippy's Cheap Pool Cooler -->Skippy's New Fountain

  5. Back To Top    #5

    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Location
    Murrieta, CA
    Posts
    5

    Re: Any way to have budget automation/remote control

    I guess I didnt realize fully what wireless system meant, didnt know if it was wireless to connect to one of the controllers- but needed hard wired internet. But thanks for the info, I guess I get to figure out how to set it up and get an install project sometime in the near future.

  6. Back To Top    #6
    setsailsoon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Location
    Stuart/FL
    Posts
    418

    Re: Any way to have budget automation/remote control

    Toast,

    I recently added wireless control to my Jandy system when I rewired from a timer system to full automatic control. I'm told all the systems work very similarly. My project was pretty involved because it involved replacing and rewiring the sub panel. But adding the wireless was simple. First you set up a free account with the manufacturer then download the free apps for your phone, tablet etc. Next you connect the wireless transmitter to the main board and then identify it as a device on you home network. You don't even need to do the password if your transmitter has the WSP feature. With this you don't even need to use the software to type in your password. You just press a button on your router then turn your transmitter on with WSP enabled. They "find each other" then sync up with no additional input. I now have total control over my local network and/or over the internet from anywhere. This allows me to set up schedules for any device that is automated.

    I wish I had more specifics on the Pentair version but I'm sure somebody here will be able to provide more details. Also you should download the manuals off a sales site or Pentair sight to be sure you won't run into problems. I bought my equipment at Sun Play as well and I'd do business with them in the future.

    I hope this helps.

    Chris
    -Chris-
    2013 In-ground plaster/pebble, screen enclosed, 12000 gal w/ Jandy 2 speed 1 HP pump, Jandy CS 200 cartridge filter, 800 gal spa w/ 1.5 HP booster pump, Solar heater, 2 LED lights in pool 1 light in spa, TF-100 test kit, The PoolCleaner Next Generation, Jandy RS-12 Automation system with iAqualink 2.0 control, Separate Hayward/Goldline Solar control

  7. Back To Top    #7
    Mod Squad YippeeSkippy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    'burbs of Augusta, Georgia
    Posts
    6,491

    Re: Any way to have budget automation/remote control

    Setsailsoon- thank you for the very detailed helpful description of your system.

    I think it will help a lot of folks.
    My Amazon Smile for November12K Fiberglass IG, Infinity 4000 automatic cover, SWCG, Hayward Sand Filter, Hayward 1.5 Pump, Doheny Discovery Robot, Savi Melody LED pool lights, outdoor speakers and other assorted doo-dads. Sundance Altamar Hot Tub.
    Our pool build--> Our Pool Solved Our Sloping Yard Skippy's Cheap Pool Cooler -->Skippy's New Fountain

  8. Back To Top    #8
    Mod Squad Jimrahbe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    Bedford, TX
    Posts
    5,349

    Re: Any way to have budget automation/remote control

    Toast,

    Basically, here is how the Screen Logic system is connected to your computer or phone.. First, you have to be able to communicate with the main EasyTouch panel. You can do this in one of two way:

    1. The easiest way is to just run a standard low voltage four wire cable, from your EasyTouch Panel to an area in your house where you can access your Internet router. This is what I did just because my EasyTouch is just a few feet away.

    2. The second way to connect the EasyTouch panel to the inside of your house is to use the wireless Transmitter/Receiver that is included in the package. The wireless system just replaces the wire used in option 1 above. It has nothing to do with Wi-Fi or the Internet at this point.

    Whether you use the hard-wired, or wireless connection, you then have to be able to "talk" with the EasyTouch Panel. Since the EasyTouch speaks "Pentair", and everyone else speaks "English" we have to have a translator/interpreter. This is where the included Protocol Adapter comes in.. You connect the Pentair end to the EasyTouch and the Ethernet end to your Internet Router. The Protocol Adapter converts the Pentair language into something that the Ethernet can understand and also converts the Ethernet's language into something that the Easytouch can understand.

    You do have to download an app if you want to use your phone, but I find using my PC works best for me. I love it. It makes everything so much easier.

    It is very easy to do, the hard part is just trying to understand Pentair's manual, which of course is written in Pentair and not English.

    Plenty of people here that can help if needed.

    Jim R.
    Finished in 2015 - 17K Gal, IG, 20' x 25' Almost Rectangular Pool, Pebble finish, three rockport water falls. Pentair Equipment: EasyTouch 4, IC40 SWG, 3 HP VS Pump, CCP520 Cartridge Filter.
    TF100 with SpeedStir and SampleSizer, ColorQ Pro 7, Dolphin Premier Robot Cleaner, added Screen Logic 2, added small 3 person Calder Spa.

  9. Back To Top    #9

    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Location
    Murrieta, CA
    Posts
    5

    Re: Any way to have budget automation/remote control

    Thanks for the detailed info (Jim and Chris) really appreciate it... and will even more so once I get it set up and working

    Matt

  10. Back To Top    #10

    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Location
    Frisco/TX
    Posts
    33

    Re: Any way to have budget automation/remote control

    You may want to check out Autelis.com for their EasyTouch pool control module. I've recently added one, and it works pretty well, plus I don't need a PC to be on all the time, which is what a Pentair tech told me the ScreenLogic Protocol Adapter required.

    Setup is easy, as you only need to attach it to the four EasyTouch keypad wires (which supplies power to the module), and provide network connectivity, (they sell a wireless bridge if you can't plug it into your network directly).

    You access the module's menus by browsing to the network IP address assigned to it, or use the app that's built into the module's firmware. I use my iPad to access it using both methods.

    While not exactly cheap, it's still quit a bit less than a full ScreenLogic system - and I don't need to have the PC on to use it...

  11. Back To Top    #11

    Join Date
    May 2016
    Location
    Spring, Texas
    Posts
    3

    Re: Any way to have budget automation/remote control

    ScreenLogic doesn't require you have a PC running all the time - just to clarify. The protocol adapter is a hardware device that plugs into your home router. No PC required
    Jeff - Texas - 20,000 gal saltwater free-flow gunite pool with boulders, waterfall, grotto, spa with flagstone spill way, easy touch 8, wireless/mobile app control, Letro Legend w/ pump, intelliflo waterfall pump, variable speed pool/spa pump, fountains, spay nozzels and weeping rock wall.

  12. Back To Top    #12

    In the Industry

    ps0303's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    FL
    Posts
    3,437

    Re: Any way to have budget automation/remote control

    Until you mentioned about the capabilities to turn the spa on before you get home I would have suggested the X10 system. A builder by me uses it for customers that want automation but not the high price tag. Not sure if they have an option that allows you to remotely control things via a smart phone.
    Paul
    http://www.gastekservices.com A word of caution: When working with gas and electrical you might want to consider a licensed contractor. Consider the value of your life and others around you. If you would like to provide a review of the help I provided, please use the following link to leave a review. gastek - Google Search,

  13. Back To Top    #13

    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Location
    Murrieta, CA
    Posts
    5

    Re: Any way to have budget automation/remote control

    Just wanted to pop back in and say thanks again. Got the setup from sunplay, and got it all installed. It really was quite easy (reading the instructions I thought it was going to be much worse then it was). The biggest pain was i also wired a junction box into the setup on an open relay so I could control some market lights I have strung around my fence from the equipment. And I am not an electrician, nor have I ever played on on TV. And after a few missteps and back tracking, finally got it all wired and working perfectly (for now).

    Appreciate the help mates.

    Matt

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •