Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 29

Thread: Algae Problem

  1. Back To Top    #1

    Algae Problem

    I have had a gunite pool for two years now and fight algae every summer as soon as the water starts to warm up. I spent hundreds of dollars in Leslies last summer with no results.

    Can someone please steer me in the right direction. I have read several post about this problem and get real confused as to what to do to solve this.

    thanks
    Thanks,

    Ryan
    Gunite Pool: saltwater 45,000 gallons, Triton II sand filter, ozenator, 2-2.5 HP Whisperflow Pump

  2. Back To Top    #2
    JasonLion's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Silver Spring, MD
    Posts
    37,879

    Re: Algae Problem

    They key to keeping pool care easy is testing your water so you know exactly what you need to do instead of just guessing. The first thing to do is to buy a top quality test kit, I recommend a kit from TF Test Kits, see the link in my signature. The Taylor K-2006 is also good.

    Get a good test kit, or have your water tested at a pool store, post your test results here, and we can give you specific advice.

    I also recommend reading some of our Pool School material. There is lots of information there about how to take care of your pool so that your pool is trouble free.
    19K gal, vinyl, 1/2 HP WhisperFlo pump, 200 sqft cartridge filter, AutoPilot Digital SWG, Dolphin Dynamic cleaning robot
    Creator of PoolMath and Pool Calculator. Other handy links: Support this site, TF Test Kits, Pool School

  3. Back To Top    #3

    In the Industry

    duraleigh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Sebring, Florida
    Posts
    30,077

    Re: Algae Problem

    everglades,

    Welcome to the forum. This is the best place on the internet to get your pool questions answered.

    Your first step is going to be up in "Pool School" (upper right) and read all the articles in Getting Started and all the articles in Pool Chemistry. That'll get you started and will generate a lot of questions which everyone here will help you answer.

    I will tell you that your algae problems are due to a lack of chlorine in your pool. One of the primary things you should take away from pool school is that chlorine is what kills algae but, in so doing, it is likewise consumed and needs to be constantly replenished. You're gonna' need a good test kit but I need to let others help you with that.

    A pool that maintains a constant, adequate level of chlorine will not get algae. We just have to help you figure out what that constant, adequate level should be and how to get there.
    Dave S.
    42k vinyl and concrete pool, 1.5hp pump, 140gpm filter
    TFTestkits , PoolMath , Pool School

  4. Back To Top    #4
    Butterfly's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    South Carolina
    Posts
    10,045

    Re: Algae Problem

    Hi everglades and welcome to the forum

    Yep, you're gonna' need a good test kit so you can be in control of your pool! No more spending hundreds at the pool store and not seeing results. I recommend TFTestKits, link in my sig.

    I see in another post that you have a 'salt water pool'. If you had been trying to shock your pool using a SWG, it probably didn't work. In fact, it is not recommended that the superchlorinate setting be used, as it can shorten the life of the cell.

    When you get a moment, please add your location in your profile and your pool/equipment specs in your sig. This is very important info for members responding to your posts.

    We're glad to have you.
    TFP Moderator TF100 Test Kit TF100 TestKit YouTube Channel PoolMath
    You're done SLAMing when:
    1)You lose 1ppm or less FC overnight, & 2)You have .5ppm CC's or less, & 3)your water is clear.

    ~ One should not use a sledge hammer to swat a mosquito. ~

    If you found TFP helpful and we saved you money ... Become a TFP Supporter!

  5. Back To Top    #5

    Re: Algae Problem

    I'm really at a disadvantage as I have a lot of learning to do to get you all the information needed for the solution. I do have a K-2006 test kit and can do the basic test but when it comes to using the dial I can't figure out how to get the results from it. Maybe someone can point me in the direction as to how to use this as well.
    Thanks,

    Ryan
    Gunite Pool: saltwater 45,000 gallons, Triton II sand filter, ozenator, 2-2.5 HP Whisperflow Pump

  6. Back To Top    #6

    In the Industry

    duraleigh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Sebring, Florida
    Posts
    30,077

    Re: Algae Problem

    Disregard the dial for now.

    Can you post test results For FC, CC, pH, CH, and CYA? (The abreviations are up in Pool School)
    Dave S.
    42k vinyl and concrete pool, 1.5hp pump, 140gpm filter
    TFTestkits , PoolMath , Pool School

  7. Back To Top    #7
    JasonLion's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Silver Spring, MD
    Posts
    37,879

    Re: Algae Problem

    I wouldn't worry too much about the dial. If you keep your levels within the recommended ranges you shouldn't need to use the dial.

    The dial, Taylor Watergram, is used to determine the calcium saturation index. You can also use my Pool Calculator, see the link in my signature, to do the same thing. The calcium saturation index is most useful when you have a plaster pool and need one of your numbers to be outside the normal range for some reason.

    Post some test results and we can give you some specific advice.
    19K gal, vinyl, 1/2 HP WhisperFlo pump, 200 sqft cartridge filter, AutoPilot Digital SWG, Dolphin Dynamic cleaning robot
    Creator of PoolMath and Pool Calculator. Other handy links: Support this site, TF Test Kits, Pool School

  8. Back To Top    #8

    Re: Algae Problem

    Quote Originally Posted by duraleigh
    Disregard the dial for now.

    Can you post test results For FC, CC, pH, CH, and CYA? (The abreviations are up in Pool School)
    FC =0
    CC=0
    PH=8
    CH=90
    CYA= not sure the blact dot never disapperared when filling vial?
    Thanks,

    Ryan
    Gunite Pool: saltwater 45,000 gallons, Triton II sand filter, ozenator, 2-2.5 HP Whisperflow Pump

  9. Back To Top    #9

    Re: Algae Problem

    Quote Originally Posted by Butterfly
    Hi everglades and welcome to the forum

    Yep, you're gonna' need a good test kit so you can be in control of your pool! No more spending hundreds at the pool store and not seeing results. I recommend TFTestKits, link in my sig.

    I see in another post that you have a 'salt water pool'. If you had been trying to shock your pool using a SWG, it probably didn't work. In fact, it is not recommended that the superchlorinate setting be used, as it can shorten the life of the cell.

    When you get a moment, please add your location in your profile and your pool/equipment specs in your sig. This is very important info for members responding to your posts.

    We're glad to have you.
    Not sure how to modify signature?
    Thanks,

    Ryan
    Gunite Pool: saltwater 45,000 gallons, Triton II sand filter, ozenator, 2-2.5 HP Whisperflow Pump

  10. Back To Top    #10

    In the Industry

    duraleigh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Sebring, Florida
    Posts
    30,077

    Re: Algae Problem

    As you can see, you have no chlorine in your pool. You are inviting algae and will always have it unless you keep chlorine in your pool. Remember, it must be constantly added to your pool.

    I would suggest......

    1. Get enough muriatic acid to lower your pH down around 7.4 or so. Do this right now....pH 8.0 is not good.

    2. Get enough CYA to raise your CYA to around 60ppm. This will help you keep chlorine in your pool.

    3. Buy at least 10-15 of the large jugs of Clorox bleach. You are gonna need them all.

    4. Once you have accumulated the Clorox, lowered your pH, and put the CYA in your pool, you're about ready.

    Again, read those articles in pool school. You need to understand basic pool water chemistry before you start shocking and balancing. Post back up and let us know you're ready to shock and you'll get lots of great help.

    How does your water look right now?
    Dave S.
    42k vinyl and concrete pool, 1.5hp pump, 140gpm filter
    TFTestkits , PoolMath , Pool School

  11. Back To Top    #11
    Butterfly's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    South Carolina
    Posts
    10,045

    Re: Algae Problem

    Yep, Dave's got you covered!
    TFP Moderator TF100 Test Kit TF100 TestKit YouTube Channel PoolMath
    You're done SLAMing when:
    1)You lose 1ppm or less FC overnight, & 2)You have .5ppm CC's or less, & 3)your water is clear.

    ~ One should not use a sledge hammer to swat a mosquito. ~

    If you found TFP helpful and we saved you money ... Become a TFP Supporter!

  12. Back To Top    #12
    frustratedpoolmom's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    SWSuburban Chicago, IL
    Posts
    11,965

    Re: Algae Problem

    Quote Originally Posted by everglades26
    Not sure how to modify signature?
    Go to User Control Panel (top left), then Profile, then Edit Signature. You are allowed 5 lines of text, see our sigs for examples of the info we need.

    I can't imagine Leslie's not helping you. (I'm not a fan of Pool Stealers.)

    Welcome to TFP!

    We'll help get you set in no time....
    Helpful links: Pool School; CYA/Chlorine Chart
    24' round AG pool, 52" high, Raypak heater; Waterway 2 spd Pump;
    150 Sq ft. Clearwater Cartridge Filter; Former and DISSATISFIED "Pool Frog" owner
    http://www.PerfectlyClearPoolService.com

  13. Back To Top    #13
    Butterfly's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    South Carolina
    Posts
    10,045

    Re: Algae Problem

    Quote Originally Posted by everglades26
    Quote Originally Posted by Butterfly
    Hi everglades and welcome to the forum

    Yep, you're gonna' need a good test kit so you can be in control of your pool! No more spending hundreds at the pool store and not seeing results. I recommend TFTestKits, link in my sig.

    I see in another post that you have a 'salt water pool'. If you had been trying to shock your pool using a SWG, it probably didn't work. In fact, it is not recommended that the superchlorinate setting be used, as it can shorten the life of the cell.

    When you get a moment, please add your location in your profile and your pool/equipment specs in your sig. This is very important info for members responding to your posts.

    We're glad to have you.
    Not sure how to modify signature?
    To change your profile or signature, see the User Control Panel link, just below the TFP logo at the top left side of the forum. Then select the profile link, under Options, and you can edit your location. Click on Edit Signature, again under Options, to change your signature.

    Don't worry, things will get easier!
    TFP Moderator TF100 Test Kit TF100 TestKit YouTube Channel PoolMath
    You're done SLAMing when:
    1)You lose 1ppm or less FC overnight, & 2)You have .5ppm CC's or less, & 3)your water is clear.

    ~ One should not use a sledge hammer to swat a mosquito. ~

    If you found TFP helpful and we saved you money ... Become a TFP Supporter!

  14. Back To Top    #14

    Re: Algae Problem

    Quote Originally Posted by duraleigh
    As you can see, you have no chlorine in your pool. You are inviting algae and will always have it unless you keep chlorine in your pool. Remember, it must be constantly added to your pool.

    I would suggest......

    1. Get enough muriatic acid to lower your pH down around 7.4 or so. Do this right now....pH 8.0 is not good.

    2. Get enough CYA to raise your CYA to around 60ppm. This will help you keep chlorine in your pool.

    3. Buy at least 10-15 of the large jugs of Clorox bleach. You are gonna need them all.

    4. Once you have accumulated the Clorox, lowered your pH, and put the CYA in your pool, you're about ready.

    Again, read those articles in pool school. You need to understand basic pool water chemistry before you start shocking and balancing. Post back up and let us know you're ready to shock and you'll get lots of great help.

    How does your water look right now?

    It is clear as a can be. Just little spots of algae growing everywhere. I have added the muratic acid and the PH is approx. 7.2. Should I also add the clorox? It is 45K gallons. If so how many do you think?
    Thanks,

    Ryan
    Gunite Pool: saltwater 45,000 gallons, Triton II sand filter, ozenator, 2-2.5 HP Whisperflow Pump

  15. Back To Top    #15
    frustratedpoolmom's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    SWSuburban Chicago, IL
    Posts
    11,965

    Re: Algae Problem

    Use the Pool Calculator, enter your gallonage and all your current numbers in the "Now" column, and then enter the recommended levels in the "goal" column and hit calculate and it will tell you how much of the chlorine and how much of the CYA to add. Go ahead and add both.

    For the CYA, how you add it depends on what kind of filter you have? (Update your Signature)

    For the chlorine, you pour it very slowly in front of the return while the pump is running, carefully so you don't splash yourself or the pool.
    Helpful links: Pool School; CYA/Chlorine Chart
    24' round AG pool, 52" high, Raypak heater; Waterway 2 spd Pump;
    150 Sq ft. Clearwater Cartridge Filter; Former and DISSATISFIED "Pool Frog" owner
    http://www.PerfectlyClearPoolService.com

  16. Back To Top    #16

    Re: Algae Problem

    I have updated my signature thanks to you guys. If any other information is needed please let me know.

    I tested my pool again today and here's how it reads:
    Free Chlorine .5
    Chlorine1.5
    PH7.4
    Alkalinity80
    Calcium HArdness120
    CYA?? Not sure if I Performed correctly? This happened two days in a row.

    Please let me know if these numbers make sense!!
    Thanks,

    Ryan
    Gunite Pool: saltwater 45,000 gallons, Triton II sand filter, ozenator, 2-2.5 HP Whisperflow Pump

  17. Back To Top    #17
    JasonLion's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Silver Spring, MD
    Posts
    37,879

    Re: Algae Problem

    When doing the CYA test, if you can still see the black dot the the result is 0.

    Have you added any CYA/stabilizer/conditioner yet? When you do, give it a week to dissolve before testing the CYA level again.
    19K gal, vinyl, 1/2 HP WhisperFlo pump, 200 sqft cartridge filter, AutoPilot Digital SWG, Dolphin Dynamic cleaning robot
    Creator of PoolMath and Pool Calculator. Other handy links: Support this site, TF Test Kits, Pool School

  18. Back To Top    #18

    In the Industry

    duraleigh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Sebring, Florida
    Posts
    30,077

    Re: Algae Problem

    Hi, Ryan,

    Your gonna need all that clorox (and more) in your pool to shock and get rid of the algae.

    Before that, I would suggest enough CYA to get up to 30ppm since you apparently have none. What issues are you having with the test?

    Don't put the Clorox in just yet.......let's get your CYA defined first.
    Dave S.
    42k vinyl and concrete pool, 1.5hp pump, 140gpm filter
    TFTestkits , PoolMath , Pool School

  19. Back To Top    #19
    reebok's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Lakeland, FL
    Posts
    1,268

    Re: Algae Problem

    fwiw, if you are down in FL as I'm guessing you are, you can probably get chlorine (the 2.5gal refills) at a pool store cheaper than bleach. esp with that big of a pool and now you have algae, could probably save a fair amount if you have one near you.
    16x32 21,000 gallon in-ground exposed aggregate, 1.5hp pump, 120 sqft catridge filter, birdcage, solar panels, aquavac tigershark qc robot.

  20. Back To Top    #20
    Butterfly's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    South Carolina
    Posts
    10,045

    Re: Algae Problem

    Quote Originally Posted by reebok
    fwiw, if you are down in FL as I'm guessing you are, you can probably get chlorine (the 2.5gal refills) at a pool store cheaper than bleach. esp with that big of a pool and now you have algae, could probably save a fair amount if you have one near you.
    Excellent idea Not only maybe save $$, but also save on the # of big jugs you gotta' carry :P

    See if this helps with the CYA test. It's a visual from Taylor, scroll to the bottom:

    http://www.taylortechnologies.com/Chemi ... ntentID=44
    TFP Moderator TF100 Test Kit TF100 TestKit YouTube Channel PoolMath
    You're done SLAMing when:
    1)You lose 1ppm or less FC overnight, & 2)You have .5ppm CC's or less, & 3)your water is clear.

    ~ One should not use a sledge hammer to swat a mosquito. ~

    If you found TFP helpful and we saved you money ... Become a TFP Supporter!

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •