Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: Flow seems to change on its own?

  1. Back To Top    #1

    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Location
    Alpharetta, GA
    Posts
    8

    Question Flow seems to change on its own?

    I have a SWG pool, about 30,000 gallons. At the start of the season the pump's motor got fried and it took me about 6 weeks to replace it.

    i installed iAquaLink before that, and everything is now working fine.

    For the past 2 weeks I have vacuumed, cleaned the cartridge filters, cleaned the Polaris, etc probably ten times. There was a lot of sediment at the bottom of the pool, so it was necessary.

    I seem to have a problem where the flow changes during the day on its own. It starts out strong, water spills over the spillway and all looks well. Hours later it turns into a dribble over the spillway and I get a no flow indicator. The contacts on the flow sensor are clean.

    I now have the pump at 2500 rpm and I am getting good water movement..

    Finally, I have noticed that when the cleaner is on it will choke the water flow. I thought that cleaners with a booster pump were less dependent on rpm of the main pump?

    This is somewhat vague, but something just doesn't seem right. I thought you all might have some insights that would be helpful. Any ideas?

    Thank you all so much.

  2. Back To Top    #2
    Texas Splash's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    South-Central Texas, Marion/San Antonio
    Posts
    12,947

    Re: Flow seems to change on its own?

    Chad, before we assume your issue is mechanically related, would you be able to post a full set of test results from your TF-100 or Taylor K-2006? You'd be surprised how much that helps us. Also, please add your pool info to your signature by going to the top of the TFP web page (just under the Pool School button) and select "SETTINGS". On the next page look to the left for a menu bar that says, “MY SETTINGS” and go to "EDIT SIGNATURE" to enter your pool and equipment info there. This link may also help you: Pool School - Read This BEFORE You Post. It will help us later. Thanks!
    Pat (a.k.a. Texas Splash) ~ My Pool: Viking Fiberglass; 17,888 Gal; Waterway Supreme 2-sp/2-hp pump; Hayward Ctg filter; TF-100 w/ Speed Stir
    Vital Links: POOL SCHOOL, RECOMMENDED LEVELS, RECOMMENDED CHEMICALS, Poolmath Calculator, SLAM, Chlorine/CYA CHART.
    If you enjoyed your TFP experience, please consider donating to Support TFP!

  3. Back To Top    #3

    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Location
    Alpharetta, GA
    Posts
    8

    Re: Flow seems to change on its own?

    Got it. Will do Texas Splash. Sorry for the newbie mistake. Will post back shortly...

  4. Back To Top    #4

    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Location
    Katy/Texas
    Posts
    411

    Re: Flow seems to change on its own?

    If I understand your problem correctly, the flow to your pool and spillway is ok when the booster pump is off. If that is the case, the booster pump is diverting water from the spillway circuit to your pool cleaner. The water for the booster pump has to come from somewhere. If it is important to you that the spillway has more water when the cleaner is operating, increase the main pumps speed while cleaning.
    In ground, 14,000 gallon, white plaster, unheated, stone waterfall, DE Filter, Rainbow 320 Cl, Polaris 3900, FloVis flow meter, F100 test kit, Circupool RJ30+ SWG, Circupool VJ1/Speck Badu EcoM3V variable speed pump.

  5. Back To Top    #5

    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Location
    Alpharetta, GA
    Posts
    8

    Re: Flow seems to change on its own?

    Thanks Wasp. I can, but would that cause a no flow condition if the main pump speed is too low for when the booster is on?

    Last night I pushed the rpm to 1900, no booster, and the spillway was good. This morning, no changes in settings, and it was trickling over the spillway and I had a no flow condition. I turned off the pump, pushed rpm to 2500 and I am getting good flow and the spillway is fine.
    30k pebbletec SWG with spa, Jandy JEP2.0 pump, Jandy LRZ heater, Zodiac CL580, Polaris PB460 booster pump

  6. Back To Top    #6

    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Location
    Katy/Texas
    Posts
    411

    Re: Flow seems to change on its own?

    Is it possible that the pump reduces its speed automatically after a period of time?
    In ground, 14,000 gallon, white plaster, unheated, stone waterfall, DE Filter, Rainbow 320 Cl, Polaris 3900, FloVis flow meter, F100 test kit, Circupool RJ30+ SWG, Circupool VJ1/Speck Badu EcoM3V variable speed pump.

  7. Back To Top    #7

    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Location
    Alpharetta, GA
    Posts
    8

    Re: Flow seems to change on its own?

    For what it's worth I resolved the problem. The pump now runs around a normal 1200 rpm and all equipment seems to be working well..

    There were three issues.

    1. Filters just kept getting dirty. Obvious enough, but I cleaned them about 7 times to get a lot of the dirt out of the pool from when the pump broke.

    2. I had to reset the flow sensor. This forum was very helpful in locating the daughter board attached to my flow sensor. I pushed the little reset button and it calibrated.

    3. The valve for the booster pump line was partially closed.

    Amateur issues I am sure, but it was the combination of issues that threw my off.

    Thanks!
    30k pebbletec SWG with spa, Jandy JEP2.0 pump, Jandy LRZ heater, Zodiac CL580, Polaris PB460 booster pump

  8. Back To Top    #8

    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Location
    Katy/Texas
    Posts
    411

    Re: Flow seems to change on its own?

    Thanks for posting the solution to your problem. We all learn something everyday.
    In ground, 14,000 gallon, white plaster, unheated, stone waterfall, DE Filter, Rainbow 320 Cl, Polaris 3900, FloVis flow meter, F100 test kit, Circupool RJ30+ SWG, Circupool VJ1/Speck Badu EcoM3V variable speed pump.

  9. Back To Top    #9
    Texas Splash's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    South-Central Texas, Marion/San Antonio
    Posts
    12,947

    Re: Flow seems to change on its own?

    Wow, 3 things at the same time. That can certainly make troubleshooting tricky. Glad to hear you got them all resolved. Now on to more important things .... Enjoy.
    Pat (a.k.a. Texas Splash) ~ My Pool: Viking Fiberglass; 17,888 Gal; Waterway Supreme 2-sp/2-hp pump; Hayward Ctg filter; TF-100 w/ Speed Stir
    Vital Links: POOL SCHOOL, RECOMMENDED LEVELS, RECOMMENDED CHEMICALS, Poolmath Calculator, SLAM, Chlorine/CYA CHART.
    If you enjoyed your TFP experience, please consider donating to Support TFP!

  10. Back To Top    #10

    TFP Guide
    PAGirl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Central PA
    Posts
    2,388

    Re: Flow seems to change on its own?

    Did you complete a SLAM after the broken pump? If not, you may still have some algae.
    26' X 52" Intex Ultra Frame. Intex Sand Filter
    26' X 52 Intex Ultra Frame Install
    You can lead a horse to (clear) water, but you can't force him to swim in it!

  11. Back To Top    #11
    Mod Squad pooldv's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    DFW, TX
    Posts
    23,994

    Re: Flow seems to change on its own?

    Agreed, algae is likely what caused the filter to be so dirty. Perform the Overnight FC Loss Test (OCLT) to check for organic material in the pool.
    TFP Moderator
    If TFP helped you or saved you money - Become a TFP Supporter! <--Click here
    2012 build and pics, 20k gal gunite, black onyx pebblesheen, OK flagstone, IntellifoVS, cart filter w/Pleatco, IC40 SWG, Solartouch, 5 12'x4' solar panels, HP50HA heat pump, 8mil solar cover, borates, TF-100 test kit, SONOS, Doheny's Discovery Robot, hot tub on bleach

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •