Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: SWG Newbie - Foam on Initial Startup

1. Back To Top    #1

SWG Newbie - Foam on Initial Startup

Hey there. Newbie here that just installed a SWG (Aqua Trol). I followed the directions (including putting a quart of algaecide in before starting) and now each time I turn the chlorinator on it creates a layer of foam on the surface. It goes away quickly after killing the chlorinator and running the filter. I understand this could be because of the algaecide, but wanted to make sure to check everything. Should I keep the chlorinator running and just let it runs it's course over the next week?

My numbers appear to be almost perfect.
    Taylor home test kit:

FC 6.8 - added a lot of bleach recently
    CC 0
    pH 7.6
    Total Alk: 120
    CYA: 75
    CH: 200
    Salt 3300 on the unit (no test kit yet; recommendations?)

Am I right to assume an air leak could cause this as well? The connecting tubes are the cheap grey ones from Lowes and thought about replacing them.

I inherited this pool last year with the purchase of my home and used the BBB method last year with great success. We switched to SWG because my wife's skin is sensitive to the chemicals.

Thank you!
    Nothing is impossible for the man who doesn't have to do it.

24' above ground ~13,000 gal; converted SWG Agua Trol

2. Back To Top    #2

In the Industry

Re: SWG Newbie - Foam on Initial Startup

Yeah, algaecide is the common culprit. Keep your chlorine at that level and it will subside in a day or so.
    Dave S.
    42k vinyl and concrete pool, 1.5hp pump, 140gpm filter
    TFTestkits , PoolMath , Pool School

3. Back To Top    #3

I would keep your FC at 10ish for a few days to burn it all off faster.