Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Confused pool owner

1. Back To Top    #1

Confused pool owner

Hi this is my first time posting.
    We have owned this house and pool for 4 years.
    Obviously I still don't have a clue, but i try.
    We have a 20 x 40 in ground pool with a vinyl liner, 32000 gallons.
    Test strip tells me:
    Hardness-100
    total chlorine -3
    Free clorine-0
    ph-7.2
    alkalinity-120
    ca-0

So far we have scrubbed the walls , vacuumed and back washed.
    We have added 18 gallons of bleach, clarifier, stabilizer, and we have a cloudy blue pool. What am I missing
    Good luck explaining it to me, I'm really trying.
    We did the BBB method last year after we got it right and did great!
    Thank you!
    Lucky88
    32000 gallon pool, vinyl liner, in ground, Dubuque Iowa, Taylor test kit Complete (Fas-dpd chlorine), Hayward sand filter

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: Confused pool owner

Hi, welcome to TFP! If you were following TFP last season, then you have probably seen our advice about test kits. Having a good, high quality FAS/DPD test kit is an important part of the TFP care plan. A test kit is an investment in the quality of your pool and it will pay off in no time at all. Do not add any more clarifiers, they will not help at this point. How much stabilizer did you add and how long ago did you add it? You did not post a result for CYA and that is an important value to know. If you have over stabilized the water it will be more difficult to keep clear.
    TFP Moderator
    Helpful links: TF Test Kits,TFP Pool School, PoolMath
    Vogue 21' round AG, Pentair 1 hp 2 speed pump, 36 sq ft DE filter, Hayward S180T 150# sand filter, Houston, Texas
    Love TFP? Become a
    TFP Supporter!

3. Back To Top    #3

Welcome to TFP!

Skip the clarifier and stick with these, Pool School - Recommended Pool Chemicals and use only as needed.