Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: "No Flow Filter Pump" Still On After Installing New Cell

  1. Back To Top    #1

    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Location
    PEACHTREE CITY/GA
    Posts
    6

    "No Flow Filter Pump" Still On After Installing New Cell

    Just replaced my T-15 chlorinator cell. Had some problems getting it to work but after re-soldering the back of the K-1, the chlorinator appears to be working fine. But I still have another problem. When I turn on the filter pump, it runs for about 15-20 minutes then shuts down and I get a "No Flow Filter Pump" message. If I try to turn it back on it immediately comes on, then 15-20 minutes later shuts down again with the same message. Got the same message for the first time about a week ago along with "Low Volts," which is why I replaced the cell. It seems I've fixed one problem but not the other. Last week when I first got the two messages I backflushed hoping that would help, but it did not. Water pressure appears normal. Not sure what to do next. Any suggestions? Thanks.
    2005 IG 15,000 gal, gunnite, Pentair DE filter
    Hayward Goldline Aqua Logic SWG

  2. Back To Top    #2
    Mod Squad jblizzle's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    Posts
    37,389

    Re: "No Flow Filter Pump" Still On After Installing New Cell

    Welcome to TFP!!!

    The flow switch is not in the cell. It is a separate switch in a PVC tee.

    Do you have enough water flow?
    Jason, TFP Moderator
    18k IG pebblesheen pool, Hayward ProLogic P4 w/ T-15 SWG, Pentair 1HP 2-speed Superflo, Hayward 6020 DE filter
    500 sqft Heliocol solar panels, ThePoolCleaner, TF-100 test kit w/ SpeedStir
    Pool School + Test Kit + PoolMath = A TROUBLE FREE POOL
    If you found TFP helpful and we saved you money ... Become a TFP Supporter!

  3. Back To Top    #3

    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Location
    PEACHTREE CITY/GA
    Posts
    6

    Re: "No Flow Filter Pump" Still On After Installing New Cell

    As far as I can tell yes, water flow is good, but how can you tell for sure? I'm familiar with the location of the flow switch. It appears to be working normally, i.e. I only get a no flow message when the filter pump stops running. And as soon as i restart the filter pump, the no flow message immediately goes away.
    2005 IG 15,000 gal, gunnite, Pentair DE filter
    Hayward Goldline Aqua Logic SWG

  4. Back To Top    #4

    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Location
    PEACHTREE CITY/GA
    Posts
    6

    Re: "No Flow Filter Pump" Still On After Installing New Cell

    Can a faulty flow switch cause the filter pump to shut down? While I'm at it, what are all the things that can cause a filter pump to shut down (assuming the pump itself is fine)? Is there thermal protection, no pressure protection, etc? I have no idea.
    2005 IG 15,000 gal, gunnite, Pentair DE filter
    Hayward Goldline Aqua Logic SWG

  5. Back To Top    #5
    Mod Squad jblizzle's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    Posts
    37,389

    Re: "No Flow Filter Pump" Still On After Installing New Cell

    Is the pump turning off or the SWG?

    Nothing should cause the pump to turn off except if you have automation with a safety feature enabled.
    Jason, TFP Moderator
    18k IG pebblesheen pool, Hayward ProLogic P4 w/ T-15 SWG, Pentair 1HP 2-speed Superflo, Hayward 6020 DE filter
    500 sqft Heliocol solar panels, ThePoolCleaner, TF-100 test kit w/ SpeedStir
    Pool School + Test Kit + PoolMath = A TROUBLE FREE POOL
    If you found TFP helpful and we saved you money ... Become a TFP Supporter!

  6. Back To Top    #6

    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Location
    PEACHTREE CITY/GA
    Posts
    6

    Re: "No Flow Filter Pump" Still On After Installing New Cell

    The pump is turning off, and I have no idea why.
    2005 IG 15,000 gal, gunnite, Pentair DE filter
    Hayward Goldline Aqua Logic SWG

  7. Back To Top    #7
    Mod Squad pooldv's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    DFW, TX
    Posts
    23,999

    Re: "No Flow Filter Pump" Still On After Installing New Cell

    Pumps have internal thermal protection that will shut them off if they get hot.
    TFP Moderator
    If TFP helped you or saved you money - Become a TFP Supporter! <--Click here
    2012 build and pics, 20k gal gunite, black onyx pebblesheen, OK flagstone, IntellifoVS, cart filter w/Pleatco, IC40 SWG, Solartouch, 5 12'x4' solar panels, HP50HA heat pump, 8mil solar cover, borates, TF-100 test kit, SONOS, Doheny's Discovery Robot, hot tub on bleach

  8. Back To Top    #8
    Mod Squad jblizzle's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    Posts
    37,389

    Re: "No Flow Filter Pump" Still On After Installing New Cell

    Right, I missed the point about thermal protection.
    Jason, TFP Moderator
    18k IG pebblesheen pool, Hayward ProLogic P4 w/ T-15 SWG, Pentair 1HP 2-speed Superflo, Hayward 6020 DE filter
    500 sqft Heliocol solar panels, ThePoolCleaner, TF-100 test kit w/ SpeedStir
    Pool School + Test Kit + PoolMath = A TROUBLE FREE POOL
    If you found TFP helpful and we saved you money ... Become a TFP Supporter!

  9. Back To Top    #9

    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Location
    PEACHTREE CITY/GA
    Posts
    6

    Re: "No Flow Filter Pump" Still On After Installing New Cell

    I figured it probably had thermal protection. So far today it's running normal. I will return to this thread if the filter pump has another uncommanded shut down. I appreciate your help.
    2005 IG 15,000 gal, gunnite, Pentair DE filter
    Hayward Goldline Aqua Logic SWG

  10. Back To Top    #10

    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Location
    PEACHTREE CITY/GA
    Posts
    6

    Re: "No Flow Filter Pump" Still On After Installing New Cell

    OK, it happened again today. After running for about 15 minutes, the filter pump shut off on its own for no apparent reason, along with a message,"Check system, No flow-filter Pump". I turned it back on and again it ran for about 15 minutes, then shut down on its own with the same message. It ran perfectly yesterday, so I have no idea what's causing this. Any ideas?
    2005 IG 15,000 gal, gunnite, Pentair DE filter
    Hayward Goldline Aqua Logic SWG

  11. Back To Top    #11

    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Long Beach, CA
    Posts
    2,671

    Re: "No Flow Filter Pump" Still On After Installing New Cell

    This is a pump issue, not a SWG issue. Please list all of your pool equipment in your signature as that will start to give us a clue as to what we are trying to troubleshoot.
    16k gal plaster with raised spa, Jandy DEV60 filter, 2 HP 2-speed SHPF Jandy Stealth pump
    Hayward Aqua Rite T-15 SWCG, Jandy LXi 400k BTU NG heater, 350 sq.ft. of Sun Star solar panels, TF-100 Test Kit, Dolphin s300i Cleaner
    Test Kits . Pool Math . Chlorine/CYA Chart . The SLAM Process

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •