Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Adding a timer to pool cleaner

1. Back To Top    #1

Adding a timer to pool cleaner

Not sure if this is right place or not but i am looking at adding a timer for my pool cleaner/polaris robot thingy... (Ya i am new at this). I would like to just run it a few hours everyday. I have a timer on the main pump (timer pictured) but not on 2ndary pump that runs clearer. To my understanding i would have to go out and manually turn it on and off on this set up.

What do you guys do with your cleaner? How often and how long do you run it? Wouldnt a timer be easier?

Here is a picture of the set up. The 2 switches (upper boxes - bottom 2 are outlets for landscape lighting) control the 2 pumps. Only the main pump ( right switch) is wired to the timer ( that i can trace).. The left switch controls the robot pump/jet
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by bhubb; 04-18-2016 at 07:33 PM. Reason: Picture
    36,000 Gallon, 40x20 IG, Vinyl, Hayward S- 200 Sand Filter, 300,000 MasterTemp heater, 1hp Superpump, Polaris 9550 sport, TF100 test kit

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: Adding a timer to pool cleaner

Any chance you can post your pictures directly in the thread using the How To Post Pictures tutorial?

Seems like you just need to add a timer to your booster pump, and ensure that it can not run when the main pump is turned off.
    Jason, TFP Moderator
    18k IG pebblesheen pool, Hayward ProLogic P4 w/ T-15 SWG, Pentair 1HP 2-speed Superflo, Hayward 6020 DE filter
    500 sqft Heliocol solar panels, ThePoolCleaner, TF-100 test kit w/ SpeedStir
    Pool School + Test Kit + PoolMath = A TROUBLE FREE POOL
    If you found TFP helpful and we saved you money ... Become a TFP Supporter!

3. Back To Top    #3

Quote Originally Posted by jblizzle View Post
    Any chance you can post your pictures directly in the thread using the How To Post Pictures tutorial?