Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: First time pool owner -swg question

1. Back To Top    #1

First time pool owner -swg question

I'm new to the pool world and have done some research and think I have a pretty good handle on the chemistry side of things. One question I do have, if my SWG is set to run x- amount of hours a day per the pool size. Do I need to be concerned about turning it down on weeks or longer period of times when my pool will be unused ? I plan to have my pool covered and there will be a time when it goes unused for several days. My thinking says that if it is covered and unused that I will get a spike in chlorine if the swg continues to run on the normal schedule.

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: First time pool owner -swg question

Welcome!

If it's covered, you won't lose much FC to sunlight, so yes, turn down the SWG% or the filter run time. Be aware that any CC that develops also won't get broken down by sunlight when it's covered, so don't be alarmed if you pull off the cover and test things and CC has jumped. It'll probably all be gone by the next day.
    16K freeform gunite with spa; Pentair 4000 DE filter; Century Whisperflow 1 HP; Pentair Minimax heater.
    Troublefree does not mean Maintenancefree. It's like brushing your teeth: You can spend a couple minutes a day and pennies a week or go to the dentist once a year and spend several thousand dollars.
    A pool is like a pet - you have to feed it every day, even the days you don't want to play with it!

3. Back To Top    #3

This is a little off topic but I have read some places, for a new pool start up you need to do a shock treatment and other places including my SWG manual to just boost the SWG for a unspecified amount of time. I have a 6000 gal pool a 1500 GPH pump and a SWG capable of 15000 gal pool and can produce 12g an HR of chlorine. Do I need to shock first because will it take to long to get the chlorine levels up ? or will my SWG take care of it ?