In ground pool, slow leak.. I think at jets. Help please!

Apr 18, 2016
CA
Hello all.

Quick back story:
Bought the house 3 years ago. Pool was closed it was Sept. Pool had been closed for two years. I knew there'd be some issues with it but I have some experience and knew I could patch it up. I don't care about the cosmetics, works works until the $$ allows for proper fixing. The issues were that the liner dried up and the water got too low while it was not attended to, before I bought it. So the liner at the corners are almost a foot away from the corners. The walls are all flush. Two corners are patched as the weight when opening it the first time pulled the liner out. The patches are holding solid. Other than the liner being out at the corners, I got it back in working order. I re-piped all the stuff in the pool shed and added solar pipes for heating on the roof of the deck and an optional waterfall at the front. It worked decently. I always knew we were losing slightly more water than should be due to evaporation but it was never enough to make it work fretting over. So slight.

Anyway, last year the skimmer plastic part started leaking water. And maybe always was but now it was a lot and I know it was there cuz once it got just under that square (highlighted in purple in pic), it would stop leaking. The seal behind the plastic square INSIDE the pool was pretty much disintegrated. I took the plastic off and of course it cracked as i was unscrewing it. I bought a new one but it didn't fit perfectly. I guess the concrete may have shifted. The pool itself is old, like 30 years. The jets are old school. Not much maintenance has been done. It was properly closed when I bought it, but it was left closed "covered" for 2 years. The cover ripped like paper when i first took it off due to being dried out by the sun. Anyway, I used this white hardening plaster-like seal to put around the square to seal it better where it wasn't flushed.