Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Chlorine odor at start up of filter pump

1. Back To Top    #1

Chlorine odor at start up of filter pump

I noticed yesterday that when the filter pump equipment started up a stronger than usual chlorine odor could be detected. Im still learning and was wanting to make sure what was normal and not normal with pool maintenance. I dont have a current water read to post at this time, but I did raise my FC from 2ppm to 8ppm after the equipment started up (stain issue). Your applys are always appreciated.
    13,500 gallon free form Pebble Tec pool- 2 skimmers
    Pentair Intelli-Flow filter pump, Pentair Intelli-Super Flo booster pump, waterfall pump, Del Ozone Eclipse 1 generator, Pentair Clean & Clear Plus Cartridge filtration, Nature 2 XG Clear Vision, In-line Chlorinator, Polaris 280, Raypack heater, and Color Logic LED lights.

Proud user of BBB, pool school, pool calculator, TF-100, and the advice of the friendly people here!

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: Chlorine odor at start up of filter pump

A chlorine smell is CC. Presumably there is some aeration when the pump starts up that is releasing some CC into the air.

Does your water testing show any CC?
    19K gal, vinyl, 1/2 HP WhisperFlo pump, 200 sqft cartridge filter, AutoPilot Digital SWG, Dolphin Dynamic cleaning robot
    Creator of PoolMath and Pool Calculator. Other handy links: Support this site, TF Test Kits, Pool School

3. Back To Top    #3

The last two tests were showing 0 CC. Ill check it when I get home and post the latest numbers. 8)
    Pentair Intelli-Flow filter pump, Pentair Intelli-Super Flo booster pump, waterfall pump, Del Ozone Eclipse 1 generator, Pentair Clean & Clear Plus Cartridge filtration, Nature 2 XG Clear Vision, In-line Chlorinator, Polaris 280, Raypack heater, and Color Logic LED lights.

Proud user of BBB, pool school, pool calculator, TF-100, and the advice of the friendly people here!

4. Back To Top    #4