Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Impervious Cover in Austin - How Important Is It?

1. Back To Top    #1

Impervious Cover in Austin - How Important Is It?

First time poster, looking into building a pool in Austin Texas. Met with 2 pool companies so far. 1st said that they would build pool, get final survey, then come back and add decking, which would put us over the impervious cover limit. Salesman stated that once the final permit is checked, that "no-one ever looks at that again". I don't want to be in a situation where I build a pool and a nice deck, and then if and when i go to sell the home, I have to tear up my driveway, sidewalk, or pool to meet code. Does anyone know if what he said is true? Once permit is given, you can go in and add what you want and not worry? I think i know what the answer is, I'm just hoping he is right.

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: Impervious Cover in Austin - How Important Is It?

Well, I'm no expert in city plans and permit approvals, but that would seem odd to me as well. I think your gut is right, but maybe another local will chime-in. In the meantime ..... I wanted to welcome you to TFP! Great to have you with us.
    Pat (a.k.a. Texas Splash) ~ My Pool: Viking Fiberglass; 17,888 Gal; Waterway Supreme 2-sp/2-hp pump; Hayward Ctg filter; TF-100 w/ Speed Stir
    Vital Links: POOL SCHOOL, RECOMMENDED LEVELS, RECOMMENDED CHEMICALS, Poolmath Calculator, SLAM, Chlorine/CYA CHART.
    If you enjoyed your TFP experience, please consider donating to Support TFP!

3. Back To Top    #3