Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Opening Pool switching from Baquacil to Chlorine

1. Back To Top    #1

Opening Pool switching from Baquacil to Chlorine

New member to the board. Last year we bought a house in central Ohio and knew nothing about pools. Someone told us about Baquacil so we decided to use it and it was just a complete headache for us.

We would like to open are pool in about two weeks and switch to chlorine. We have a Heyward sand filter, 25,000 gallon octagonal, vinyl liner pool.

I have been looking over the board for the last few days, but all I can find is for pools already open. How can we open the pool cover up and does this?

Any help would be great as I am still new to all the pool terminology and I am eager to learn.
    7,500 In-Ground gunite / marble plaster. VS-3050 & VS+SVRS Variable Speed Pump. Rainbow-inline chlorinator (not even used for vacations). Pentair 520 cartridge filter. Paramount Clear O3 generator. SunTouch Controls. Pentair Legend Platinum.

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: Opening Pool switching from Baquacil to Chlorine

Welcome to TFP!

A good place to start on pool openings is Pool Openings. You want to do the opening right up to where you would start adding chemicals, have the pump running and cover off etc, then switch to the conversion from baquacil to chlorine instructions.

When you have more questions feel free to ask
    19K gal, vinyl, 1/2 HP WhisperFlo pump, 200 sqft cartridge filter, AutoPilot Digital SWG, Dolphin Dynamic cleaning robot
    Creator of PoolMath and Pool Calculator. Other handy links: Support this site, TF Test Kits, Pool School

3. Back To Top    #3

Thank you, this will help out. I think first things first, is to get a good testing kit.