Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: Easy Touch for Intellibrite or Separate Intellibrite Control

  1. Back To Top    #1

    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    Land O Lakes, FL
    Posts
    526

    Easy Touch for Intellibrite or Separate Intellibrite Control

    My PB by default installs the Intellibrite LED light and the Intellibrite Controller. My PB by default installs a basic timer control and hayward equipment...

    I had him change / upgrade to all pentair equipment including the EasyTouch 4PSC-IC40 - Single Body (includes SCG integration & IC40 cell) so that it would have solar, SWG and expand-ability in the future and this was cheaper than buying the solar contoller, SWG and standard power box all separate. I do not have a spa but do have 2 bubblers, and 2 sheer descents and a few massage jets, plus the normal items.

    I was not planning to purchase a separate Easytouch wired or wireless Control Panel at this time. Not purchasing automated values at this time except for solar but solar should run on its own for the most part.

    I will be adding 2 other outdoor lights from the Easytouch panel that could be controlled by it if desired.

    So the question is:
    Do I have the PB hook up the Intellibrite to the Easytouch or the separate controller?

    Maybe I will get a wireless Easytouch Controller later or I would need to have the wired one wired now but i will be several hundred more than the Intellibrite Controller.
    Matt
    2016 Pool Build: 12k IG Blue Granite Pebblesheen, Travertine Coping & Pavers, Pentair IntelliFlo, Intellichlor, Easytouch, Clean & Clear 320, Heliocol Solar - TF-100 test kit w/ SpeedStir
    SWG Run Time Calculator

  2. Back To Top    #2

    In the Industry
    Pool Clown's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Silicon Valley, CA
    Posts
    1,637

    Re: Easy Touch for Intellibrite or Separate Intellibrite Control

    Compare the cost of the Intellibrite controller+hookup to the cost of the Easytouch indoor control panel+hookup. I say this because i assume you would want some ease of use with regard to the Intellibrite. Your only control for the light now would be at the equipment area. If your light is a white only LED, it could be a simple on off controller (light switch at the house), and you wouldn't really need either controller for it.

    My advice, although may be more expensive, would be to keep all controls centralized.
    Factory Warranty Station for:
    Jandy/Zodiac, Pentair, Sta-Rite, Raypak, Polaris,
    and Paramount pool cleaning systems.

  3. Back To Top    #3
    Mod Squad Jimrahbe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    Bedford, TX
    Posts
    5,307

    Re: Easy Touch for Intellibrite or Separate Intellibrite Control

    I suggest you seriously look into the Pentair Screen Logic 2. It gives you the ability to control everything from your PC. Once you have it, you'll wonder how you lived without it. A good, but very simple example: Before I had Screen Logic, and I wanted to turn on my pool light, all I had to do was go the outside Easytouch control panel and push one button. But wait.. When would I want the light on? At night of course. Well, it's dark at night.. No problem, just turn on the pad light which is the button right next to the pool light. So, in order to turn on my pool light I had to take a flashlight with me, just so I could push a button on the EasyTouch.

    With Screen Logic, I just use my mouse on my PC, no flashlight needed. Get Screen logic now, and you can thank me later!!

    I agree with Pool Clown.. "keep all controls centralized"..

    Jim R.
    Finished in 2015 - 17K Gal, IG, 20' x 25' Almost Rectangular Pool, Pebble finish, three rockport water falls. Pentair Equipment: EasyTouch 4, IC40 SWG, 3 HP VS Pump, CCP520 Cartridge Filter.
    TF100 with SpeedStir and SampleSizer, ColorQ Pro 7, Dolphin Premier Robot Cleaner, added Screen Logic 2, added small 3 person Calder Spa.

  4. Back To Top    #4

    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    Land O Lakes, FL
    Posts
    526

    Re: Easy Touch for Intellibrite or Separate Intellibrite Control

    I think that Screen Logic will be way beyond my budget.

    Appreciate the feedback on centralized controls.
    Matt
    2016 Pool Build: 12k IG Blue Granite Pebblesheen, Travertine Coping & Pavers, Pentair IntelliFlo, Intellichlor, Easytouch, Clean & Clear 320, Heliocol Solar - TF-100 test kit w/ SpeedStir
    SWG Run Time Calculator

  5. Back To Top    #5

    In the Industry

    bdavis466's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    Riverside, CA
    Posts
    3,284

    Re: Easy Touch for Intellibrite or Separate Intellibrite Control

    With Pentair automation, I consider ScreenLogic a necessity. As mentioned above, all programing can be done on a computer and every pool function can be run through your cell phone.
    -Brian-
    33K Pool/Spa, Pentair Equipment
    POOL BUILD
    Davis Custom Construction - Home Page

  6. Back To Top    #6

    In the Industry

    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Location
    Houston, Texas
    Posts
    134

    Re: Easy Touch for Intellibrite or Separate Intellibrite Control

    DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY ON THE INTELLIBRIGHT CONTROL! That thing is a piece of junk. I've had to rip more out than I'd like to admit. Best to take advantage of the built in control interface for Intellibrights on the Ez-Touch. I think though that you may run out of circuits with the Ez-4 with all you want to put on it.

  7. Back To Top    #7

    In the Industry
    Pool Clown's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Silicon Valley, CA
    Posts
    1,637

    Re: Easy Touch for Intellibrite or Separate Intellibrite Control

    Quote Originally Posted by JoelFitz View Post
    DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY ON THE INTELLIBRIGHT CONTROL! That thing is a piece of junk. I've had to rip more out than I'd like to admit.
    Don't sugar coat it, tell us what you really think...
    Factory Warranty Station for:
    Jandy/Zodiac, Pentair, Sta-Rite, Raypak, Polaris,
    and Paramount pool cleaning systems.

  8. Back To Top    #8

    In the Industry

    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Location
    Houston, Texas
    Posts
    134

    Re: Easy Touch for Intellibrite or Separate Intellibrite Control


  9. Back To Top    #9

    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    Land O Lakes, FL
    Posts
    526

    Re: Easy Touch for Intellibrite or Separate Intellibrite Control

    Quote Originally Posted by Pool Clown View Post
    Don't sugar coat it, tell us what you really think...
    LOL, thanks. I decided to have the PB just connect the Intellibrite to the Easytouch for now. I am going to run conduit for some electrical and for a future wired EasyTouch controller. This way, I will save a little $ now and can get a much better controller a little later.
    Matt
    2016 Pool Build: 12k IG Blue Granite Pebblesheen, Travertine Coping & Pavers, Pentair IntelliFlo, Intellichlor, Easytouch, Clean & Clear 320, Heliocol Solar - TF-100 test kit w/ SpeedStir
    SWG Run Time Calculator

  10. Back To Top    #10

    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Location
    Riverside California
    Posts
    473

    Re: Easy Touch for Intellibrite or Separate Intellibrite Control

    Quote Originally Posted by JoelFitz View Post
    DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY ON THE INTELLIBRIGHT CONTROL! That thing is a piece of junk. I've had to rip more out than I'd like to admit. Best to take advantage of the built in control interface for Intellibrights on the Ez-Touch. I think though that you may run out of circuits with the Ez-4 with all you want to put on it.
    I would get the Easy Touch 8. You will always thinksof new things you want to add which will take additional relays. For instance, I have 3 Intellibrite lights, one in the spa and two in the pool. I have my Easy Touch 8 set up to control the spa light and the pool lights individually. That way I can have mabe a red light in the spa and blue light in the pool, or any combination I want. That takes two relays right there. Add a Stenner pump or additional lighting and that is another relay. Go with Easy Touch 8, you wont regret it.
    38000 Gal, IG, Plaster, 20' x 40' x 10', Attached Raised Spa, Intelliflo VS 3 HP (011018), Pentair Quad DE 60 Filter, Raypak (Rheem) 400,000 BTU (407a low Nox), Easy Touch 8 upgrade, Screenlogic 2 with wireless, IS-4 Spa Side Remote, Stenner 45MPHP10 w/15 gal tank, Intellibrite 5g (3), Dolphin Triton Plus robot with PRO remote, Water Tech Catfish handheld vacuum for spa, TF100 with SpeedStir.

  11. Back To Top    #11

    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    Land O Lakes, FL
    Posts
    526

    Re: Easy Touch for Intellibrite or Separate Intellibrite Control

    Quote Originally Posted by gary300 View Post
    I would get the Easy Touch 8. You will always thinksof new things you want to add which will take additional relays. For instance, I have 3 Intellibrite lights, one in the spa and two in the pool. I have my Easy Touch 8 set up to control the spa light and the pool lights individually. That way I can have mabe a red light in the spa and blue light in the pool, or any combination I want. That takes two relays right there. Add a Stenner pump or additional lighting and that is another relay. Go with Easy Touch 8, you wont regret it.
    I would agree but my budget is already being stretched and we don't have a spa so that limits some of what we need.
    Matt
    2016 Pool Build: 12k IG Blue Granite Pebblesheen, Travertine Coping & Pavers, Pentair IntelliFlo, Intellichlor, Easytouch, Clean & Clear 320, Heliocol Solar - TF-100 test kit w/ SpeedStir
    SWG Run Time Calculator

  12. Back To Top    #12

    In the Industry

    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Location
    Spring/TX
    Posts
    57

    Re: Easy Touch for Intellibrite or Separate Intellibrite Control

    Screen logic which also hooks to not just to your computer but also your cell phone is cheaper then the wireless controller.
    40k Gallon Grecian true L Gunite Pool/Spa. Clean clear plus 520 cartridge. IntelliFlow VS-3050. Polaris booster pump w/ Polaris 360 cleaner. Silencer 1 1/2 hp Blower. Aqualink RS8 w/ Iaqualink 2.0 upgrade kit.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •