Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: New Pool Owner - What to do first???

1. Back To Top    #1

New Pool Owner - What to do first???

We just closed on a new home that has a pool. I have never owned a pool, or taken care of one, so this is new to me. I am sold on the TFP method, as it seem very logical, and has many followers. I have been reading a lot on here the last month or so, in preparation of buying this hose with a pool. I am actually an Environmental Engineer with water/wastewater treatment experience, so this is very similar to my day job. I am totally on board with decisions to chemical addition being made based on sampling data. I have read through many pool school articles, and already purchased the TF100 kit with the XL and speed stir option.

Having said this, I will have the opportunity at the end of next week to collect a sample, and perform my first test. I know this is the starting point I need to make any decisions/chemical additions. However, I just want to make sure there isn't anything else I need to do prior. The pool looks to be in pretty good shape. The previous owner added about 8 chlorine tabs to the dispenser last week while showing us how to operate the pump and cleaner. While I understand this was not ideal, due to adding CYA, it seems to me that it is better than nothing, since it will hopefully prevent an algae bloom. The pool is very clear/clean.

Please help the newbie out. Thanks in advance.
    25,000-gal IG, vinyl, sand filter, Built in 2002, TF100,

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: New Pool Owner - What to do first???

Welcome to TFP!!

Sounds like you are ready. You have your test kit, you have done your reading and you should be ready to go.

Don't be in a rush. Moving is going to be tough enough. If it's clean and clear and the CYA is reasonable, pull the tabs and move forward with liquid.