Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Liquid Chlorine vs Tablets

1. Back To Top    #1

Liquid Chlorine vs Tablets

I have been using Tablets for the last 2 years, but would like to switch over to liquid Chlorine. I just cleared out a nasty case of mustard Algae, and do not want it back. I am wondering if using liquid chlorine is better in the long run.

1) Not sure how to calculate each dosage
    2) Is liquid Bleach from the store OK to use.
    3) Is it more cost effective?

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: Liquid Chlorine vs Tablets

Short answer - yes. You will be much better by switching to liquid chlorine (sodium hypochlorite) which is actually regular household bleach. Cheap, easy to find, and easy to apply. We know exactly how much to add based on a "Chlorine/CYA Chart" which illustrates the relationship between Free Chlorine (FC) and stabilizer/Cyanuric Acid (CYA). We also use a "Poolmath Calculator" to help measure what we need. Both links are below in my signature.

Cost effective - sure. Once balanced, you may only need a 1/2 gallon or so of bleach to your water each day (if that) depending upon the size of your pool. Tablets will drive-up your CYA to an unmanageable level resulting ultimately in the required drain or water exchange of pool water. With bleach you won't have that problem.

Please take a look at those pages and let us know if you still have questions.
    Pat (a.k.a. Texas Splash) ~ My Pool: Viking Fiberglass; 17,888 Gal; Waterway Supreme 2-sp/2-hp pump; Hayward Ctg filter; TF-100 w/ Speed Stir
    Vital Links: POOL SCHOOL, RECOMMENDED LEVELS, RECOMMENDED CHEMICALS, Poolmath Calculator, SLAM, Chlorine/CYA CHART.
    If you enjoyed your TFP experience, please consider donating to Support TFP!

3. Back To Top    #3

Sounds like an excellent plan!

More on chlorinating your pool here, Pool School - How to Chlorinate Your Pool