Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: If I have an overflow pipe, where would it be?

  1. Back To Top    #1

    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Roseville, CA
    Posts
    341

    If I have an overflow pipe, where would it be?

    I suspect that my overflow water seeps between the concrete "deck" around the pool, and where the pool tile meets it. At the top of the tile is there is a plastic strip of some sort running around the pool. It's fairly concealed and I suspect it is a bond breaker to separate the tile adhesive from the deck.

    I have not found anything visible that looks like an over flow drain.

    I don't have problems, I'm just curious. When we have heavy rain, the pool level goes down in a few days.

    Comments?
    SWG: CircuPool (May 2014) SI30+Plus; 3000ppm seems ideal;
    My Ideal Specs:
    FC 5; PH 7.4-7.6; TA 90; CH 350; CYA 75; = SI ~ 0.19
    14,000 gal, in ground, plaster, Cartridge filter, Borates
    TAYLOR K - 2006

  2. Back To Top    #2
    banditig's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    464

    Re: If I have an overflow pipe, where would it be?

    Some skimmers have a knock out for a drain, have you had a good look in the skimmer?
    15x54 swim & play vinyl metal wall AG
    Hayward S210T sand filter 1.5 HP Pentair Superflo vs
    Rheem raypak 130,000 BTU mv ng
    Jacuzzi 345 whirlpool bath
    TF-100 test kit, HM digital com100 Wanda the Whale

  3. Back To Top    #3

    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    653

    Re: If I have an overflow pipe, where would it be?

    Some older pools can leak out the junction box for the underwater light if these are set low. Newer pools have the box elevated by code for good reason. Hopefully, you can rule that out as it is not a good situation.
    Current: 28,000G 18'x36' I/G AnthonySylvan Plaster; Waterway 60 sq.ft. DE Filter; 1.0hp x 1.65 SF Two-Speed (B2982) WhisperFlo; 2004-Present
    Previous: 40,000G 20'x40' I/G Koven unlined WWII salvage 5/8" marine steel; Lomart Stainless Sand Filter; 3/4hp Hayward SuperPump; 1946-2003 (managed by me from about 1964)
    Ancient Taylor K-2000, upgraded with Taylor CH, TA, and FAS-DPD, and TFT CYA tests.

  4. Back To Top    #4
    Mod Squad pooldv's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    DFW, TX
    Posts
    23,998

    Re: If I have an overflow pipe, where would it be?

    There are three places for an overflow that I am aware of.

    A grate in the tile line
    A knockout in the skimmer housing
    A knockout in the autofill housing

    Any of these would be plumbed to drain water to a place away from the pool. If your pool goes down on its own in a few days then it seems likely that you have an overflow somewhere.
    TFP Moderator
    If TFP helped you or saved you money - Become a TFP Supporter! <--Click here
    2012 build and pics, 20k gal gunite, black onyx pebblesheen, OK flagstone, IntellifoVS, cart filter w/Pleatco, IC40 SWG, Solartouch, 5 12'x4' solar panels, HP50HA heat pump, 8mil solar cover, borates, TF-100 test kit, SONOS, Doheny's Discovery Robot, hot tub on bleach

  5. Back To Top    #5

    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Roseville, CA
    Posts
    341

    Re: If I have an overflow pipe, where would it be?

    Base on the descriptions here, I suspect it goes into the landscaping drain.

    I won't be pulling the pool light any time soon! Skimmer I would have noticed. I suspect a gap into a crushed stone holding area, with a pipe into the landscape drain.
    SWG: CircuPool (May 2014) SI30+Plus; 3000ppm seems ideal;
    My Ideal Specs:
    FC 5; PH 7.4-7.6; TA 90; CH 350; CYA 75; = SI ~ 0.19
    14,000 gal, in ground, plaster, Cartridge filter, Borates
    TAYLOR K - 2006

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •