Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Looking to replace a Sta-Rite P6E6E 1HP pump

1. Back To Top    #1

Looking to replace a Sta-Rite P6E6E 1HP pump

I have been running this pump for close to 6 years http://www.amazon.com/Pentair-Sta-Ri.../dp/B001HNFCVG

Had an issue with it running dry last year because of the leaves clogging up the 2 skimmers so I had to have the motor rebuilt. It runs now but my electric bills are crazy when the pool is running so I wanted to get some recommendations on something more energy efficient. When we got it we were told that it was a very efficient pump but my electric bills over the years would beg to differ I would like to get something that I didn't have to re-plumb the pipes ideally. I have a DE filter and run a heater as well for our 24K gallon pool.

I'm thinking one of the newer variable speed models so I thought I would ask the experts. Thanks for any advice
    My pool 20x40 Vinyl Liner 24k gallons Sta-Rite P6E6E-206L Max-E-Pro Energy 1 HP System Filtration DE Polaris BP960 pump Heater

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: Looking to replace a Sta-Rite P6E6E 1HP pump

You have several options:

1) New VS pump - Upfront costs $$$ and energy savings $$$, requires plumbing changes
    2) New 2 speed pump - Upfront costs $$ and energy savings $$, requires plumbing changes
    3) New 2 speed motor - Upfront costs $ and energy savings $$, requires NO plumbing changes

ROI for #1 tends to be more than 2 or 3 when you have higher electrical costs. If you have fairly low electrical costs and the pump wet end is in good condition, you might consider just a motor replacement (3).

But your energy costs will be reduced for all three options.

One more thing you should consider is changing cleaners so you don't need to run the booster pump. Those draw quite a bit in energy too.
    Mark
    Hydraulics 101; Pump Ed 101; Pump/Pool Spreadsheets; Pump Run Time Study; DIY Acid Dosing; DIY Cover Roller