Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: New Intermatic T104M

  1. Back To Top    #1

    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Location
    St Petersburg/Florida
    Posts
    10

    New Intermatic T104M

    Hello all!

    So the Intermatic timer installed quit working. Not sure how old it was cause I bought it with the house but the gears were rusted up and were no longer turning but it has run perfectly fine for the past 2 years I have been in my home. I assumed the gears seized up so I purchased a new T104M from Home Depot. Switched the unit out, exactly wired how the old one was. Switched on, pump turned on, assumed everything was fine. Couple of hours later, I checked and noticed the dial had not moved. Investigated further, the dish was seated correctly but I noticed the gears were not turning through the window. Checked the voltage getting 120 each on line and load wires. Pump is powered by 220v. Right now I am completely stumped and any help would be greatly appreciated! Anybody ever dealt with something like this?
    10k gallon in ground marcite, cartridge filter, 1h Pentair Superflo pump, manually chlorinated.

  2. Back To Top    #2

    In the Industry
    Pool Clown's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Silicon Valley, CA
    Posts
    1,636

    Re: New Intermatic T104M

    There are two white little wires that come from behind the time clock, and should connect to the #1 and the #3 posts. Those by the way should be the line connections (power to the unit). Those two wires power the timer motor. There should also be a sight window through to the back of the time clock where you can see the gears for the timer, and confirm that the timer motor is working. There are also on and off trippers that you need to attach to the yellow wheel. But i'm assuming you did that.
    Factory Warranty Station for:
    Jandy/Zodiac, Pentair, Sta-Rite, Raypak, Polaris,
    and Paramount pool cleaning systems.

  3. Back To Top    #3

    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Location
    St Petersburg/Florida
    Posts
    10

    Re: New Intermatic T104M

    Thanks for the reply. Yes, both the white wires are attached to the #1 and #3 posts. I have the line from the power box screwed into post #1. In post #2 is the load wire going to the pump. I also have the jumpers connected. The pool pump powers on just fine. For some strange reason the timer gears are not moving?
    10k gallon in ground marcite, cartridge filter, 1h Pentair Superflo pump, manually chlorinated.

  4. Back To Top    #4

    In the Industry
    Pool Clown's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Silicon Valley, CA
    Posts
    1,636

    Re: New Intermatic T104M

    T104m is a 240V timer. It requires 240v to pin 1 and 3 for the timer to keep time. If you are running only 120V to the timer, it wont keep time. You need a T101M.
    Factory Warranty Station for:
    Jandy/Zodiac, Pentair, Sta-Rite, Raypak, Polaris,
    and Paramount pool cleaning systems.

  5. Back To Top    #5
    Texas Splash's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    South-Central Texas, Marion/San Antonio
    Posts
    12,934

    Re: New Intermatic T104M

    Hey guys. Don't mean to butt-in, ....... BurgDweller, you may have already seen these, but just incase, I had these links available:
    Intermatic T101M (110V) Replacement: How To Replace an Intermatic T101M (120V) Pool Timer - YouTube
    Intermatic T104M (220V): How to Replace an Intermatic T104M 240V (208 277 V) Pool Timer - YouTube

    Maybe it will help a little.
    Pat (a.k.a. Texas Splash) ~ My Pool: Viking Fiberglass; 17,888 Gal; Waterway Supreme 2-sp/2-hp pump; Hayward Ctg filter; TF-100 w/ Speed Stir
    Vital Links: POOL SCHOOL, RECOMMENDED LEVELS, RECOMMENDED CHEMICALS, Poolmath Calculator, SLAM, Chlorine/CYA CHART.
    If you enjoyed your TFP experience, please consider donating to Support TFP!

  6. Back To Top    #6

    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Location
    St Petersburg/Florida
    Posts
    10

    Re: New Intermatic T104M

    Problem solved. Thanks pool clown! After reading your last post it got me thinking and then I realized the old timer model and it was T103 which is a 120v timer. Went to Home Depot and exchanged out the 104 for the 103 and installed it this morning. Working perfectly! Whoever ran the electric at my house only ran one 120v wire to the pool pump off a 220v breaker, so this is why I assumed I needed the 104 cause of the 220v breaker.

    And thanks Texas Splash for the videos. I did see those videos beforehand and I have been a subscriber to your channel for quite sometime now. All top notch sir!
    10k gallon in ground marcite, cartridge filter, 1h Pentair Superflo pump, manually chlorinated.

  7. Back To Top    #7
    Texas Splash's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    South-Central Texas, Marion/San Antonio
    Posts
    12,934

    Re: New Intermatic T104M

    Glad you're back on track. Enjoy your day.
    Pat (a.k.a. Texas Splash) ~ My Pool: Viking Fiberglass; 17,888 Gal; Waterway Supreme 2-sp/2-hp pump; Hayward Ctg filter; TF-100 w/ Speed Stir
    Vital Links: POOL SCHOOL, RECOMMENDED LEVELS, RECOMMENDED CHEMICALS, Poolmath Calculator, SLAM, Chlorine/CYA CHART.
    If you enjoyed your TFP experience, please consider donating to Support TFP!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •