Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Hello from the Pacific Northwest

1. Back To Top    #1

Hello from the Pacific Northwest

Hello,
    My family and I just bought a 1970's house with a fiberglass inground pool that is probably the same age. I haven't even started to dig into what state the pool equipment is in. The previous owners only noted that the pool had a new gas heater that needed to be hooked up. I'm guessing it needs more than the heater exhaust pipe hooked up but am glad I found this forum. I've never owned a pool before or really expected to. I am a scientist with an industrial wastewater treatment technology company so I have a solid understanding of water filtration.

It appears to have been a fully enclosed pool with an electric furnace and heat pumps to heat the pool. It's now only partially enclosed and my first project is securing it for safety.

IMG_9582.jpg

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: Hello from the Pacific Northwest

Congratulations on your new home and pool! You have lots on your mind I'm sure. When you get a chance, please start reviewing these pages:
    Pool School - ABCs of Pool Water Chemistry
    Pool School - Chlorine / CYA Chart
    Poolmath calculator
    Pool School - Recommended Levels
    Pool School - Recommended Pool Chemicals
    Also, you'll want the right test kit to test water consistently. None of that pool store stuff trust me. You get what you pay for. These are the best values:
    TFTestkits.net
    Pool School - Test Kits Compared

Later, please add your pool info to your signature by going to the top of the TFP web page (just under the Pool School button) and select "SETTINGS". On the next page look to the left for a menu bar that says, “MY SETTINGS” and go to "EDIT SIGNATURE" to enter your pool and equipment info there. It will help us later. This link may also help you: Pool School - Read This BEFORE You Post

You didn't know there would be homework did you? Easy stuff. Welcome!