Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Leave pool open or closed for the summer in Arizona?

1. Back To Top    #1

Leave pool open or closed for the summer in Arizona?

Hi,
    i just installed a fibreglass pool at my home in Arizona where I am a winter resident. I'm looking for any input on how I should leave the pool when I go home for the summer. My plan was to cover the pool with a winter cover and only run the pump for an hour or two a day. Will this work or will it get mouldy, or slimy, etc under the cover. This way I won't loose a lot of water to evaporation, save electricity not having to run the pump as much and keep all the blowing sand out of the pool from the summer storms. It also should elevate having to have a pool guy to come by weekly to check chemicals etc. I do have someone checking on my house and yard when I'm gone but they don't know much about pools. I also have a friend across the street that has a pool that will come over and check on things for me. Any thoughts would be greatly appreciated.

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: Leave pool open or closed for the summer in Arizona?

Sorry to say it will end up being a slimy algae pool when you get back. People get away with closing pools in the winter because algae growth is retarded in cold water. Nice warm water in AZ is going to be a perfect breeding ground fro algae.
    TFP Moderator 39 X 18 23,000(ish) freeform gunite; built 2007ish; Pentair Triton II TR100 600lb Sand filter; 2 HP Pentair pump with 2.2 HP AO Smith single speed motor; 2 skimmers, 1 main drain, 4 returns w/waterfall, Stenner 45MHP2 3GPD running@ 60% - 15 gal Tank; heated by the sun CYA 200+ when I started - 50 now. Dolphin Supreme M5 Pool Cleaner. Hot Springs SX Spa, 285 gallon

3. Back To Top    #3

Quote Originally Posted by tim5055 View Post