Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Installing DE grid filter

1. Back To Top    #1

Glendora, CA

Installing DE grid filter

Is there an easier way to install onto the manifold? I have taken out twice to clean and putting it back was a pain (had to call another person for assistance). I just bought new filters and manifold this week. I read that turning the manifold upside down would be an easier method?

1) flip manifold upside down
    2) install the filters
    3) put the base on without worry where the filter sit on the notch
    4) install the rod
    5) have a few beers

2. Back To Top    #2
    Mod Squad
    DFW, TX

Re: Installing DE grid filter

I have no experience with DE filters but this might help, Use and care for DE filters
    TFP Moderator
    If TFP helped you or saved you money - Become a TFP Supporter! <--Click here
    2012 build and pics, 20k gal gunite, black onyx pebblesheen, OK flagstone, IntellifoVS, cart filter w/Pleatco, IC40 SWG, Solartouch, 5 12'x4' solar panels, HP50HA heat pump, 8mil solar cover, borates, TF-100 test kit, SONOS, Doheny's Discovery Robot, hot tub on bleach

3. Back To Top    #3
    San Dimas, CA (LA County)

Some filters come with a thing plastic thing that fits on top of the grids to align them before you install the upper manifold. Mine isn;t one of them, and i don;t think yours is, either. Swearing seems to help.
    16K freeform gunite with spa; Pentair 4000 DE filter; Century Whisperflow 1 HP; Pentair Minimax heater.
    Troublefree does not mean Maintenancefree. It's like brushing your teeth: You can spend a couple minutes a day and pennies a week or go to the dentist once a year and spend several thousand dollars.
    A pool is like a pet - you have to feed it every day, even the days you don't want to play with it!

4. Back To Top    #4