White bits in pool, probably from Chlorinator?

Feb 4, 2016
Western Australia
Hey folks, this is my first post here. I've owned pools now for about 5 years - in that time I've had 2 saltwater pools in 2 different houses. I'm no expert, but I've picked up a few things along the way.

One thing that has contantly bugged me in both properties is that I almost always havewhite flakey bits in our pool – looks virtually identical to the stuff that you get on the chlorinator when you clean it.

Basically, I will check the pool and there are loads of these bits lying at the bottom of the pool underneath the 2 jets that are coming from the pump. The bits range from small (pin head sized) right up to the size of a 5c coin. I would estimate there is enough in the pool to fill a coffee mug after just a few days. I vacuum all the bits up, but a few days later they are back to the same levels. It's an ongoing struggle.

Worse still, if I get into the pool with goggles I can see that there are loads more of these bits in motion within the water floating around, I guess these bits are too small to have enough mass to sink to the bottom. If you look through the pool it looks like there is 1000s of the little bits and the pool isn't quite crystal clear as a result.

Its very frustrating.

Doesn't seem to be linked at all to how clean my chlorinator is – in other words, I get the same amount appearing straight after a throrough clean of the chlorinator as I do when the chlorinator is caked in the same white stuff.

So, I'm confused as to (a) what causes these bits and (b) why the sand filter doesn't take alot out of the water.

I'm wondering if my cell is passed it's best and needing replacement. However, I seem to recall the previous property had the same issue immediately after a cell replacement, so I suspect this isn't the issue (but my memory may be wrong)