Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: New to pools, pls help identify components

1. Back To Top    #1

New to pools, pls help identify components

Hello All,

I took ownership of a home with a pool and looking for some help. I'm new to pools and have no idea about pool plumbing. I can identify the pool pump, filter and heater. However, there are a couple of components I'm not understanding. Furthermore, I don't know if this is a saltwater or chlorine pool. Listing agent had no idea, the home was bank owned. I attached two pictures. The first picture has two components which to me would look like pumps but they only have one like to them as opposed to an inlet and outlet. The second picture I'm assuming it is a check valve?
    20160202_080559_1.jpg20160202_083821.jpg

Pool dimensions 40'x20', 3 feet shallow end and 7' deep end
    Heater Pentair Mastertemp 400
    Filter pump Hayward SP3020EE, Motor AO Smith ST1202, 2HP
    Filter Hayward Pro Grid D.E Filter
    ~40k gallons 40'x20' - 10'deep end 3' shallow end
    Hayward D.E. Filter (DE4820)
    Pentair Master-Temp 400K
    Filter Pump Hayward Supper II Pump SP3020

2. Back To Top    #2

In the Industry

Re: New to pools, pls help identify components

The black cylindrical item on top of the pipe is an air blower. It is usually attached to the spa jets to boost performance.

The rusty thing near the ground is a pool sweep booster pump. It is designed to provide high pressure for the original "Pool Sweep" made by Arneson. If it runs, You can also use it to run a Polaris 180, 280, or 380 cleaner.

Yes, that is a check valve. If you ever need to replace it, buy one with attached unions for easy servicing in the future.
    APSP Certified Building Professional
    APSP Certified Service Professional
    NSPF Certified Pool Operator

3. Back To Top    #3