Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: too much HP?

  1. Back To Top    #1

    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Location
    Orlando, FL
    Posts
    33

    too much HP?

    Hello, In the process of building a 14,000 gallon SWCG with spa. There's a large spillway, with 4 waterfeatures. Also have an in-floor cleaning system. I thought a booster pump would be necessary... currently installed are 2 - 2HP (2speed) pumps.

    I'm just trying to identify what this pool will actually need for flows...I'm not planning on using the in-floor simultaneously with the other features.

    Any thoughts?

    Thank you

  2. Back To Top    #2

    In the Industry

    bdavis466's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    Riverside, CA
    Posts
    3,303

    Re: too much HP?

    You are building a pool, the pumps are already installed and you want to change them out? Or are you asking if you need a booster pump in addition to the 2 pumps?

    I guess I don't understand what you are asking. How about a picture of the pool features, pool equipment pad and a little more detail?
    -Brian-
    33K Pool/Spa, Pentair Equipment
    POOL BUILD
    Davis Custom Construction - Home Page

  3. Back To Top    #3

    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Location
    Orlando, FL
    Posts
    33

    Re: too much HP?

    Pool is actually about 16,000 gallons. Features are 2 bubblers, 2 waterbowls, 5' spillway. What size pump(s) would you recommend?

    16k gal, IG, marcite, 3HP VSP Ecostar, 2HP Booster 2speed, 200 sqft cartridge, SWG, Caretaker IFC, Omnilogic, Solar, Taylor K2006, Born 3/16

  4. Back To Top    #4
    Mod Squad tim5055's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    Columbia, SC
    Posts
    8,495

    Re: too much HP?

    I'm confused also - You say " process of building" but that is contradicted by "currently installed are 2 - 2HP (2speed) pumps"
    TFP Moderator 39 X 18 23,000(ish) freeform gunite; built 2007ish; Pentair Triton II TR100 600lb Sand filter; 2 HP Pentair pump with 2.2 HP AO Smith single speed motor; 2 skimmers, 1 main drain, 4 returns w/waterfall, Stenner 45MHP2 3GPD running@ 60% - 15 gal Tank; heated by the sun CYA 200+ when I started - 50 now. Dolphin Supreme M5 Pool Cleaner. Hot Springs SX Spa, 285 gallon

  5. Back To Top    #5

    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Location
    Orlando, FL
    Posts
    33

    Re: too much HP?

    Pool is not finished. Pumps installed. I'll definitely have increased water flow demands, but not sure if 4hp is overkill.

    16k gal, IG, marcite, 3HP VSP Ecostar, 2HP Booster 2speed, 200 sqft cartridge, SWG, Caretaker IFC, Omnilogic, Solar, Taylor K2006, Born 3/16

  6. Back To Top    #6

    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Location
    Orlando, FL
    Posts
    33

    Re: too much HP?

    Quote Originally Posted by bdavis466 View Post
    You are building a pool, the pumps are already installed and you want to change them out? Or are you asking if you need a booster pump in addition to the 2 pumps?

    I guess I don't understand what you are asking. How about a picture of the pool features, pool equipment pad and a little more detail?
    Total Volume including spa = 16,000 gallons
    Spillway is 5' across. 2 waterbowls. Fountain in Spa and Shelf. Infloor cleaner with 26 heads, Solar/Gas Heating.

    Most equipment is in, still need to Plaster. I originally planned for a VS pump + booster, PB suggested doing a 2speed 2HP pump over a VS.

    The PB has installed two Superpump 2HP, 2-speed pumps instead of one + 3/4 booster. I plan on automating with Omnilogic.

    Any thoughts on pump selection? I want good waterflow, but don't want to get a huge electric bill every month! Also, with the Omnilogic will I be able to dial in a preferred waterflow rate with the features. I'm guessing options will be limited compared to a VS pump.

    Thanks

  7. Back To Top    #7

    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Location
    Sugar Land , TX
    Posts
    388

    Re: too much HP?

    I have 8500 gallon pool, spa, and 3 scupper water feature. I use a Pentair 3/4hp Whisperflow for the water feature. I use a Pentair 3hp VS for pool, spa, and cleaner ( pressure side with booster ). I like that when I have water feature and spa on the appearance ( flow of water feature ) is not affected as it might be if one pump was running the system. I also like that I can dial in the speed ( with VS ) for daily circulation ( low ) , cleaner ( higher ), spa use ( even higher). My electricity is 5 cents per kw so it cost me to run 5 hours ( circulation 1700rpm ) , 1 hour ( cleaner 2800rpm ) about $5 per month.
    8500 gallon IG Pebble Sheen with Spa. 3hp Pentair VS Intelliflo ( pool ), 3/4 hp WhisperFlo ( water feature ),Pentair Racer, 400K Pentair heater, Pentair 500sqft Cartridge filter, EasyTouch 8, Stenner 45mp2 15gallon wired to ET8

  8. Back To Top    #8
    Mod Squad jblizzle's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    Posts
    37,389

    Re: too much HP?

    With in-floor systems you need a lot of flow, so I think that pump be fine and allow you to run at lower speed when the cleaning is not needed. There should be no need for a booster pump.

    The automation will not let you dial in a flow rate, just select from the 2 speeds. You can control valves which could help dial in where you want the water to go.
    Jason, TFP Moderator
    18k IG pebblesheen pool, Hayward ProLogic P4 w/ T-15 SWG, Pentair 1HP 2-speed Superflo, Hayward 6020 DE filter
    500 sqft Heliocol solar panels, ThePoolCleaner, TF-100 test kit w/ SpeedStir
    Pool School + Test Kit + PoolMath = A TROUBLE FREE POOL
    If you found TFP helpful and we saved you money ... Become a TFP Supporter!

  9. Back To Top    #9

    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Location
    Orlando, FL
    Posts
    33

    Re: too much HP?

    Quote Originally Posted by jblizzle View Post
    With in-floor systems you need a lot of flow, so I think that pump be fine and allow you to run at lower speed when the cleaning is not needed. There should be no need for a booster pump.

    The automation will not let you dial in a flow rate, just select from the 2 speeds. You can control valves which could help dial in where you want the water to go.
    Thanks. I'm sure I'll figure it out once the pool is up and running. I'll have unions put in just in case I need to swap out equipment.

    My electric is about $0.10/kw , I read in another thread that the 2speed is usually the way to go if less than $0.20.

    Any other thoughts or recommendations before plaster?
    16k gal, IG, marcite, 3HP VSP Ecostar, 2HP Booster 2speed, 200 sqft cartridge, SWG, Caretaker IFC, Omnilogic, Solar, Taylor K2006, Born 3/16

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •