Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: PH adjustment not working

  1. Back To Top    #1

    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    Dallas, Tx
    Posts
    72

    PH adjustment not working

    Good morning. Have been using TFP for almost 2 years with great success - This morning, my readings were

    ph - 7.3
    fc - 5
    cc - 0
    ta - 75
    ch - 225
    cya - 25 -30

    My concern is that the poolmath page is giving me a corrosive reading, kind of scary. Yesterday my ph was 7.3 and I added 60 oz of washing soda per poolmath but as you can see there is no change. I am uncertain if the temperature input on poolmath is the water temperature you are testing at or the pool temperature. This morning my pool was 50 and I warmed the water to 72 before testing. Not sure what I should do at this point. It seems from playing with the inputs, raising the ph is my only choice. Appreciate any advice!!
    Mike

    Pool is inground 20' x 40' 42000 gallon, rectangular plaster about 60 years old, replastered 2 years ago. Pentair VS Intelliflo pump, Pentair 420 Clean & Clear Plus Cartridge filter. Using K-2006 test kit.

  2. Back To Top    #2
    Mod Squad tim5055's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    Columbia, SC
    Posts
    8,494

    Re: PH adjustment not working

    Use the pool temperature in Pool Math.

    Did you pre-disolve the washing soda in a bucket of water before you put it in the pool?

    I have to ask, the pump is ruining, correct?

    Just bringing the CH up to about 300 will take you out of the corrosive range, but I agree bringing up the pH will help more. I would probably recommend borax rather than washing soda as borax has less effect on TA. Borax is available as 20 Mule TeamŽ Borax Natural Laundry Booster. It is sold in the laundry detergent section of most larger grocery stores and some big box stores. Borax is best added by pre-dissolving it in a bucket of water and then pouring that slowly in front of a return.

    How are you getting all the "5" results (TA/CH/CYA) when none of those tests in your K-2006 reads to that level?
    TFP Moderator 39 X 18 23,000(ish) freeform gunite; built 2007ish; Pentair Triton II TR100 600lb Sand filter; 2 HP Pentair pump with 2.2 HP AO Smith single speed motor; 2 skimmers, 1 main drain, 4 returns w/waterfall, Stenner 45MHP2 3GPD running@ 60% - 15 gal Tank; heated by the sun CYA 200+ when I started - 50 now. Dolphin Supreme M5 Pool Cleaner. Hot Springs SX Spa, 285 gallon

  3. Back To Top    #3

    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    Dallas, Tx
    Posts
    72

    Re: PH adjustment not working

    Tim, thanks for your reply. The pump is running, I just checked!! On TA I am reading the color change at 70 but adding another drop makes it brighter so I assume 75. On CH I used 10 ml water and got 9 drops x 25 for the change and on CYA, I use the big tube and slide because I have great difficulty with this measurement and it is slightly easier to read for me. Hope that makes sense.

    Also, what is the best way to bring the CH up? Appreciate your help.
    Mike

    Pool is inground 20' x 40' 42000 gallon, rectangular plaster about 60 years old, replastered 2 years ago. Pentair VS Intelliflo pump, Pentair 420 Clean & Clear Plus Cartridge filter. Using K-2006 test kit.

  4. Back To Top    #4

    In the Industry

    duraleigh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Sebring, Florida
    Posts
    30,077

    Re: PH adjustment not working

    On TA I am reading the color change at 70 but adding another drop makes it brighter so I assume 75.
    ALL drops based test should be performed thus...

    Add drops one at a time until the last drop you add makes NO further color change of any kind. Subtract that last drop that made no difference and the result is the endpoint of your test.

    Don't change that CH much at all.....it will continue to accumulate in most pools.

    Ph will naturally rise as well.

    Don't be a slave to CSI.......many of us don't use it. Be a slave to staying within the suggested guidelines on TFP and your pool will be fine.

    In short, I would add not more than 25-50 ppm CH (using Calcium Chloride) and leave everything else alone.
    Dave S.
    42k vinyl and concrete pool, 1.5hp pump, 140gpm filter
    TFTestkits , PoolMath , Pool School

  5. Back To Top    #5
    Mod Squad tim5055's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    Columbia, SC
    Posts
    8,494

    Re: PH adjustment not working

    Did you pre-disolve the washing soda in a bucket of water or is it sitting on the bottom of the pool?

    Your TA would be 80 as you should add drops one at a time until you observe no further color change.

    I didn't think the Taylor 4088 slide Cylinder had "5" readings, does yours? If not then just round up to the next number.

    Calcium hardness can be raised with calcium chloride or calcium chloride dihydrate. They are available in some areas as Peladow, Dowflake, Tetra Flake, or Tetra 94, often sold as a deicer by hardware stores, and some big box stores, in colder climates. Pool stores will carry either calcium chloride or calcium chloride dihydrate under a variety of names, including Hardness Plus, Balance Pak 300, Calcium Hardness Increaser, etc. Calcium products should be spread across the surface of the deep end of the pool. My Lowes & Home Depot both carry it ins the outside garden area. If you go the deicer route, read the ingredients as some are not calcium chloride.
    TFP Moderator 39 X 18 23,000(ish) freeform gunite; built 2007ish; Pentair Triton II TR100 600lb Sand filter; 2 HP Pentair pump with 2.2 HP AO Smith single speed motor; 2 skimmers, 1 main drain, 4 returns w/waterfall, Stenner 45MHP2 3GPD running@ 60% - 15 gal Tank; heated by the sun CYA 200+ when I started - 50 now. Dolphin Supreme M5 Pool Cleaner. Hot Springs SX Spa, 285 gallon

  6. Back To Top    #6

    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    Dallas, Tx
    Posts
    72

    Re: PH adjustment not working

    Tim and Duraleigh - thanks for the clarification and advice. I added enough calcium chloride to raise the reading about 30 points, went to the pool store, Home Depot and a couple of hardware stores only had mixes with calcium chloride. The washing soda was completely dissolved, I learned that from an earlier mistake. The CSI kind of shook me up but still not sure why the PH didnt go up. Will let you know what happens on Monday. Unfortunately have to leave town for the weekend. Appreciate everyones help.
    Mike

    Pool is inground 20' x 40' 42000 gallon, rectangular plaster about 60 years old, replastered 2 years ago. Pentair VS Intelliflo pump, Pentair 420 Clean & Clear Plus Cartridge filter. Using K-2006 test kit.

  7. Back To Top    #7

    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Location
    Ok ok
    Posts
    811

    Re: PH adjustment not working

    Quote Originally Posted by duraleigh View Post
    ALL drops based test should be performed thus...

    Add drops one at a time until the last drop you add makes NO further color change of any kind. Subtract that last drop that made no difference and the result is the endpoint of your test.

    Don't change that CH much at all.....it will continue to accumulate in most pools.

    Ph will naturally rise as well.

    Don't be a slave to CSI.......many of us don't use it. Be a slave to staying within the suggested guidelines on TFP and your pool will be fine.

    In short, I would add not more than 25-50 ppm CH (using Calcium Chloride) and leave everything else alone.
    Is this true with all tests? keep adding until there is absolutely no change? I have often wondered about this.


    ~14K gallon - AquaRite AQR15 SWG - pool Newly plastered on April 9 2016
    TF100 kit - STA-RITE SYSTEM3 Modular Media Filtration - Model S8M150
    Pool water supply from on site water well = CH of ~350 and TA of ~350
    Doheny's Discovery Automatic Robotic Cleaner/Pentair Model 011018 VS Pump
    Sundance Altamar Hot tub separate from pool / central Oklahoma

  8. Back To Top    #8
    Patrick_B's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Midland TX
    Posts
    15,001

    Re: PH adjustment not working

    Yes it is Lykly. If you have more questions about it, please start a new thread and we will answer you there.
    TFP Moderator
    Essential Links:
    ABC's Of Pool Chemistry, Test Kits, SLAM Your Pool
    28K Gal IG FreeForm, CLI Quartz, Pentair 36"SF & VS Pump, Dolphin M5, Rheem

  9. Back To Top    #9

    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    Dallas, Tx
    Posts
    72

    Re: PH adjustment not working

    Ok, here are the numbers today and the CSI tells me there is potential to be corrosive to plaster but based on the previous threads I will ignore that(unless directed otherwise) Pool water temp was 48 and I warmed the water to 72 before testing.

    FC - 5
    CC - 0
    PH -7.4
    TA - 70
    CH - 275
    CYA - 30
    Mike

    Pool is inground 20' x 40' 42000 gallon, rectangular plaster about 60 years old, replastered 2 years ago. Pentair VS Intelliflo pump, Pentair 420 Clean & Clear Plus Cartridge filter. Using K-2006 test kit.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •