Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: high cc

1. Back To Top    #1

high cc

Anything over about .5 CC indicates you need more sanitizer and that you are getting into an area where you want to stay out of the spa
    I'm no expert, but this doesn't jive with my experience.

.5 cc would be considered an unusually low reading. 2-3.5 cc is more typical, with readings as high as 6 cc not unheard of.

"Shocking" as described in the context of my spa, doesn't really make sense either. I "shock" every time I add chlorine basically. I add as much as I think I can get away with without damaging equipment. 20ppm fc is about the target, give or take 5pp, depending on the initial test results.

Cya levels are a bit of a mystery, cause I haven't tested very often. I can say for sure that they've been between 50 and 20 since Halloween.

For us, at least, just keeping FC at all, at all times, is the goal. This is irrespective of CC readings.

CC readings come down after not using the tub for a few days, or by running the air jets.

Running the air jets causes PH to climb, although that is easy to deal with.

It's not clear to me why I should care what the CC is. Keeping up with FC, PH, and CYA, is enough for me to deal with.

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: HDX 5 Way test kit and shocking

CC is an indication that your FC is being consumed by organic material or has recently been consumed by organic material and there hasn't been enough outgassing of CC. Presence of CC all the time means that your FC is constantly being consumed and you may have something growing in your spa. Specifically biofilms in the spa plumbing.

However, if you're always testing after soaks, then you're likely going to see CC levels like you're reporting. Do you have these high CC levels before you soak? What levels are you maintaining your FC at when not in use?