Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Bonding Above Ground Pool - Trying to understand

  1. Back To Top    #1

    Bonding Above Ground Pool - Trying to understand

    I had my 24' above ground pool installed last summer. It was not bonded at the time. This year my goal is to bond the pool, but I am having a hard time wrapping my head around how to attach the bonding lugs to the legs/posts of the pool. My pool has steel supports with resin tracks and cap. So my question is how do you secure the copper lug to the support when the pool is already installed?

    Could you also verify I am looking at the correct bonding supplies? Am I missing anything? I saw a thread discussing split bonding lugs, but what do you use that for?

    Copper Lug

    Burndy Waterbug
    My pool: Sharkline Venture 24' x 52" ; Pentair Dynamo 1 HP 2 Speed Pump ; Pentair SD80 Sand Filter; TF-100 Test Kit w/ Speed Stir

  2. Back To Top    #2
    philc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Location
    Grand Island Nebraska
    Posts
    190

    Re: Bonding Above Ground Pool - Trying to understand

    I bolted mine to the legs before the pool was put up. Can you access the inside of the leg at all ,like to fish a bolt down from the top? What about using a sheet metal screw to attach the bonding lugs? Large poprivets?
    Intex 22' X 52" Ultra Frame AGP ( 12K gallons) , Intex 633T 2500 GPH (41 GPM) running Doughboy Silica II sand filter (16"dia. 1.4 ' S.A.) ( And doing it quite well, I might add!) Hayward through the wall skimmer, TF100 with Speed Stir. Hard plumbed, Intex fountain ...........

  3. Back To Top    #3

    TFP Guide

    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    western NY
    Posts
    1,557

    Re: Bonding Above Ground Pool - Trying to understand

    To properly bond the pool you will need to do a few things.
    The bonding loop/grid will be a solid #4 copper wire surrounding the pool at a 6" depth and 18-24" away from the pool shell/frame. At 4 locations equally spaced around the pool you will need to connect the loop to the pool frame. The lugs you linked to may be used if they are GC (ground contact) rated. At the skimmer, the Water Bug will need to connect to the loop as well. From the loop you will also need to provide a connection that will go to the pump bonding lug, heater bonding lug and any other metal component at the pad. I don't have my code book in front of me right now but, if there is a metal fence (including aluminum) within a certain distance from the pool edge, it must also be connected to the loop.
    Unknown make 18' above ground (bought used in 1999) Sparco sand filter. Hayward 100,000 BTu heater. 2 speed pump

  4. Back To Top    #4

    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    Shallotte, NC
    Posts
    693

    Re: Bonding Above Ground Pool - Trying to understand


  5. Back To Top    #5

    Re: Bonding Above Ground Pool - Trying to understand

    Thank you for the replies. I am understanding the bonding of the pool and water, but unsure what type of connection to use to screw or bolt the lug to the pool uprights. That is what I haven't quite figured out yet. This is probably stupid, but is there any kind of screw that will lock itself in place with out a nut?

    Also, thanks for pointing out that I will need to bond the fence too!
    My pool: Sharkline Venture 24' x 52" ; Pentair Dynamo 1 HP 2 Speed Pump ; Pentair SD80 Sand Filter; TF-100 Test Kit w/ Speed Stir

  6. Back To Top    #6
    Mod Squad tim5055's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    Columbia, SC
    Posts
    8,494

    Re: Bonding Above Ground Pool - Trying to understand

    There has been a little incorrect information being given out here. You can refer to This PDF of Article 680 of the National Electrical Code (Thanks to Mike Holt Enterprises for posting this)

    *The The bonding conductor must be 8 AWG bare solid copper

    *You can not use sheet metal screws or rivits to connect the bonding conductor.

    *The bonding conductor must be secured in or under the deck or unpaved surface within 4 in. to 6 in. below the subgrade and must be located between 18 in. and 24 in. from the inside walls of the pool.

    All fixed metal parts within 5 feet of the pool must be bonded to the equipotential grid, including but not limited to, "metal-sheathed cables and raceways, metal piping, metal awnings, metal fences, and metal
    door and window frames."

    Attachments for the bonding wire must be listed for the application. If you look at page 3 of this post you will see photos of some correct attachment devices.

    The part I am unsure of deals with above ground pools such as yours that have metal legs and resin top/bottom rails. With the resin top/bottom the legs are isolated from each other, thus the 4 point bonding would leave many legs with no protection.

    If you go to Youtube and search for videos of "Bonding above ground pools" you will find several with examples of how they did it. But, I caution you the advice they give, just like the advice here may be worth what you paid for it. When in doubt contact the Authority Having Jurisdiction (building department) over your area for enforcement of building codes.
    TFP Moderator 39 X 18 23,000(ish) freeform gunite; built 2007ish; Pentair Triton II TR100 600lb Sand filter; 2 HP Pentair pump with 2.2 HP AO Smith single speed motor; 2 skimmers, 1 main drain, 4 returns w/waterfall, Stenner 45MHP2 3GPD running@ 60% - 15 gal Tank; heated by the sun CYA 200+ when I started - 50 now. Dolphin Supreme M5 Pool Cleaner. Hot Springs SX Spa, 285 gallon

  7. Back To Top    #7
    philc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Location
    Grand Island Nebraska
    Posts
    190

    Re: Bonding Above Ground Pool - Trying to understand

    OK so much for sheet metal screws or pop rivets. If you can't access through the cap I don't see how to install bolts without cutting keyholes in the legs. Yikes!
    Intex 22' X 52" Ultra Frame AGP ( 12K gallons) , Intex 633T 2500 GPH (41 GPM) running Doughboy Silica II sand filter (16"dia. 1.4 ' S.A.) ( And doing it quite well, I might add!) Hayward through the wall skimmer, TF100 with Speed Stir. Hard plumbed, Intex fountain ...........

  8. Back To Top    #8
    Mod Squad Bama Rambler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    SouthWest Alabama
    Posts
    22,333

    Re: Bonding Above Ground Pool - Trying to understand

    You could use threaded inserts and that would allow you to bolt the bond connection. Harbor Freight has a pretty inexpensive set.
    Dave J. TFP Moderator
    24' x 52" Round AGP. 2hp/¼hp SPL Power-Flo 2-speed pump. 200sqft Waterway Cartridge Filter. 45MHP2(3GPD) Stenner Peristaltic Pump
    Pool School ----- Pool Math ----- TF-Test Kit

  9. Back To Top    #9

    Re: Bonding Above Ground Pool - Trying to understand

    Bama that looks like it might work! Thanks!
    My pool: Sharkline Venture 24' x 52" ; Pentair Dynamo 1 HP 2 Speed Pump ; Pentair SD80 Sand Filter; TF-100 Test Kit w/ Speed Stir

  10. Back To Top    #10
    philc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Location
    Grand Island Nebraska
    Posts
    190

    Re: Bonding Above Ground Pool - Trying to understand

    Intex 22' X 52" Ultra Frame AGP ( 12K gallons) , Intex 633T 2500 GPH (41 GPM) running Doughboy Silica II sand filter (16"dia. 1.4 ' S.A.) ( And doing it quite well, I might add!) Hayward through the wall skimmer, TF100 with Speed Stir. Hard plumbed, Intex fountain ...........

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •