Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Solar Blanket Question

1. Back To Top    #1

Solar Blanket Question

Due to a fountain, I do not really have a place for a solar cover reel without it majorly being in the way. How much of the pool has to be covered to benefit from a solar blanket? The reason I ask is because I'm considering buying a large blanket and cutting it into sections or buying several small blankets, just to make it easier to remove without a reel.

I've considered an automatic reel, but for the cost + cost for electric hookup and cover I'm not sure it is worth the money since I've never used a solar cover before. Thanks for your input!

Sent using Tapatalk
    ~ 18.5' x 36.5' inground Grecian pool with vinyl liner
    ~ approximately 23,000 gallons
    ~ AquaRite Salt Water Generator cell size t-9
    ~ 1.5 HP Hayward Pump and Hayward Sand Filter
    ~ TF-100 test kit

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: Solar Blanket Question

How much of the pool has to be covered to benefit from a solar blanket?
    It should be approximately proportional to the area covered. So if you cut your heat loss by 50% with 100% coverage, 50% coverage would cut your heat loss by 25%.

I didn't have a good way to use a reel so I went this route: DIY Solar Cover Roller
    Mark
    Hydraulics 101; Pump Ed 101; Pump/Pool Spreadsheets; Pump Run Time Study; DIY Acid Dosing; DIY Cover Roller
    18'x36' 20k plaster, MaxFlo SP2303VSP, Aqualogic PS8 SWCG, 420 sq-ft Cartridge, Solar, 6 jet spa, 1 HP jet pump, 400k BTU NG Heater

3. Back To Top    #3

Quote Originally Posted by mas985 View Post
    It should be approximately proportional to the area covered. So if you cut your heat loss by 50% with 100% coverage, 50% coverage would cut your heat loss by 25%.

I didn't have a good way to use a reel so I went this route: DIY Solar Cover Roller
    Thank you!!

Sent using Tapatalk
    ~ 18.5' x 36.5' inground Grecian pool with vinyl liner