Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: Can Capacitor Be Replaced on a Century Centurion?

  1. Back To Top    #1

    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Location
    Mansfield, TX
    Posts
    7

    Can Capacitor Be Replaced on a Century Centurion?

    My pump just hums, but wont turn over. I removed the cover, flipped the "ON" switch and the shaft will not turn. Its not seized up, as I can turn if freely. It just wont turn over. So I was thinking the capacitor is bad. However, I can find the capacitor on this pump motor. Its a Century Centurion B2854. Is this a permanent capacitor and is there anyway to fix the issue without shelling out $200 for a new one?

    thanks,
    18,000 gallons
    In-ground
    Gunite
    Chlorine
    DE Filter

  2. Back To Top    #2
    Mod Squad zea3's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Houston, Texas
    Posts
    9,200

    Re: Can Capacitor Be Replaced on a Century Centurion?

    You should be able to replace the start capacitor for this pump. Is there a hump on the back of the motor? If so your start capacitor is in there. Before removing a start capacitor cut off power to the pump and touch the two terminals on the capacitor with the blade of a screwdriver to discharge the capacitor to prevent electrical shock while working on the pump. Remove the strap holding the capacitor in place and replace it with the same or uprated capacitor.
    TFP Moderator
    Helpful links: TF Test Kits,TFP Pool School, PoolMath
    Vogue 21' round AG, Pentair 1 hp 2 speed pump, 36 sq ft DE filter, Hayward S180T 150# sand filter, Houston, Texas
    Love TFP? Become a
    TFP Supporter!

  3. Back To Top    #3

    Re: Can Capacitor Be Replaced on a Century Centurion?

    It's the bump on top of the motor. You remove the two screws that hold the cover on. Then you pry out the capacitor and disconnect the wires.

    It's a run capacitor. The rating should be in the 25 to 50 uf (microfarad) range. Make sure that the specs match. Make sure that the diameter is the same as well.

  4. Back To Top    #4

    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Location
    Plano, TX
    Posts
    212

    Re: Can Capacitor Be Replaced on a Century Centurion?

    The best and safest way to discharge a capacitor is to use a cheap test light (from auto supply store) instead of a screwdriver across the terminals. Turn off power to the motor and before disconnecting anything, connect the clip of test light to ground (the green screw where the power connections are). Place the probe end on each end of the capacitor until the light goes completely out. This will discharge the stored energy slowly (there is a resistor in the test light) instead of instantly (like with a screwdriver) which can cause sparks and potentially severe burns. If the capacitor is in need of replacement then you will probably have very little stored energy if any, but better to be safe just in case.


    Curtis- 20k gallon IG gunnite/plaster with hot tub/waterfall and "grotto"
    All Jandy equipment: 60sqft DE filter - 399k btu natural gas heater - Stealth pumps - iAquaLink RS8.
    Polaris 9400 on patrol.
    TF-100 in da house/TFP method in effect: FC=4-6, pH=7.5, TA=80, CH=250, CYA=50, Borate=50, CSI=-0.21

  5. Back To Top    #5
    borjis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    Pacific NW
    Posts
    2,058

    Re: Can Capacitor Be Replaced on a Century Centurion?

    Quote Originally Posted by Ale_Brewer View Post
    The best and safest way to discharge a capacitor is to use a cheap test light (from auto supply store) instead of a screwdriver across the terminals.
    good idea.

    A friend of mine works in electronics and laughed when I showed him some online instructions that said to short with a screw driver and
    be sure to wear goggles in case the capacitor blows (which it can)

    his advice was to short with resistor.
    16x32 IG Vinyl, 13,000 Gals. Hayward S-244T sand filter, SP2810X15 pump
    (1.5 HP motor) Raypak PR266AEN (266k btu) gas heater. TF-100 Test Kit.
    Dolphin E10 Cleaning Robot.

  6. Back To Top    #6

    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Location
    Plano, TX
    Posts
    212

    Re: Can Capacitor Be Replaced on a Century Centurion?

    Same concept. The light bulb in the test light is essentially a resistor. It also helps just to have a visual indicator of current. You just want to avoid a short circuit. Unless you are talking about the movie Short Circuit then that's okay.


    Curtis- 20k gallon IG gunnite/plaster with hot tub/waterfall and "grotto"
    All Jandy equipment: 60sqft DE filter - 399k btu natural gas heater - Stealth pumps - iAquaLink RS8.
    Polaris 9400 on patrol.
    TF-100 in da house/TFP method in effect: FC=4-6, pH=7.5, TA=80, CH=250, CYA=50, Borate=50, CSI=-0.21

  7. Back To Top    #7
    borjis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    Pacific NW
    Posts
    2,058

    Re: Can Capacitor Be Replaced on a Century Centurion?

    johnny five! haha
    16x32 IG Vinyl, 13,000 Gals. Hayward S-244T sand filter, SP2810X15 pump
    (1.5 HP motor) Raypak PR266AEN (266k btu) gas heater. TF-100 Test Kit.
    Dolphin E10 Cleaning Robot.

  8. Back To Top    #8

    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Location
    Plano, TX
    Posts
    212

    Re: Can Capacitor Be Replaced on a Century Centurion?

    No! No disassemble!


    Curtis- 20k gallon IG gunnite/plaster with hot tub/waterfall and "grotto"
    All Jandy equipment: 60sqft DE filter - 399k btu natural gas heater - Stealth pumps - iAquaLink RS8.
    Polaris 9400 on patrol.
    TF-100 in da house/TFP method in effect: FC=4-6, pH=7.5, TA=80, CH=250, CYA=50, Borate=50, CSI=-0.21

  9. Back To Top    #9

    Re: Can Capacitor Be Replaced on a Century Centurion?

    Note that, most of the time, a run capacitor will discharge through the windings when the pump is off. Therefore, it should almost never be charged. However, it can happen, so it's better to be safe and discharge.

  10. Back To Top    #10

    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Location
    Plano, TX
    Posts
    212

    Re: Can Capacitor Be Replaced on a Century Centurion?

    True


    Curtis- 20k gallon IG gunnite/plaster with hot tub/waterfall and "grotto"
    All Jandy equipment: 60sqft DE filter - 399k btu natural gas heater - Stealth pumps - iAquaLink RS8.
    Polaris 9400 on patrol.
    TF-100 in da house/TFP method in effect: FC=4-6, pH=7.5, TA=80, CH=250, CYA=50, Borate=50, CSI=-0.21

  11. Back To Top    #11

    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Location
    Mansfield, TX
    Posts
    7

    Re: Can Capacitor Be Replaced on a Century Centurion?

    Thanks, I removed the capacitor, before reading the latest replies. I did it with the screw driver and there was no charge remaining in the capacitor. Its a 30uf. I found one on amazon for $8 and the label matches almost exactly except for a part number and brand (CSC vs. TEMco), which I assume is specific to the seller.

    Both are 30uf +6% 370AC/B
    50/60Hz
    1000 AFC
    SH P2 Capacitor
    C22 2 NO. 190

    I have no idea what all that means, but it looks pretty close to the one I'm replacing.
    18,000 gallons
    In-ground
    Gunite
    Chlorine
    DE Filter

  12. Back To Top    #12

    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Location
    Plano, TX
    Posts
    212

    Re: Can Capacitor Be Replaced on a Century Centurion?

    Looks like a match!


    Curtis- 20k gallon IG gunnite/plaster with hot tub/waterfall and "grotto"
    All Jandy equipment: 60sqft DE filter - 399k btu natural gas heater - Stealth pumps - iAquaLink RS8.
    Polaris 9400 on patrol.
    TF-100 in da house/TFP method in effect: FC=4-6, pH=7.5, TA=80, CH=250, CYA=50, Borate=50, CSI=-0.21

  13. Back To Top    #13

    Re: Can Capacitor Be Replaced on a Century Centurion?

    If possible, check the diameter. If it's larger, then the new one won't fit in the cover.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •