Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: New pool owner

1. Back To Top    #1

New pool owner

Hi all,

I have a pool and I just started learning about the BBB method. I am waiting for my Taylor K2006 tester in the mail. In the meantime, I am using Leslie pool strips which may not be as accurate but give me something to work off at least. I had a green pool last month, but started the SLAM process, but with shock packets from Home Depot. For the past 2 weeks, the pool has been cloudy (but not green). I added 242 oz of 8.5% chlorine since I haven't added since last week. Just wanted to know if I'm doing this right or if you would do something differently.

Pool specs:
    ~12500 gallons
    Non-SWG

Most current Leslie pool strips after adding chlorine today:
    FC: 10
    FA: 200
    pH: 7.8
    CYA: 40

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: New pool owner

If your CYA is anywhere near right using those test strips (most likely not).........Your SLAM level for 40 is a minimum of 16 and MUST be maintained until you pass all 3 criteria of the SLAM procedure. You may have scared it a little but you certainly have'nt KILLED it.
    16x32x52" Steel Cornelius Miramar AGP Vinyl liner 13,100 gal. Buried 2 ft.
    2 Speed Hayward Power-Flo Matrix 85 g.p.m. 22" 250lb. sand filter hard plumbed
    Pool Rover Jr., Pool Blaster Max, Diver Dave TF100 Test Kit/Speed Stir
    Margaritaville Frozen Concoction Maker, Liqour Chiller, & Drink Mixer & Party Tub----Collect 'um all!

3. Back To Top    #3

I agree. Without your K-2006, it's all a guess right now. You'll see what we mean when the kit comes in and you take your first set of tests. Regardless, you're trying and that's a good start. By the way, welcome to TFP!
    Pat (a.k.a. Texas Splash) ~ My Pool: Viking Fiberglass; 17,888 Gal; Waterway Supreme 2-sp/2-hp pump; Hayward Ctg filter; TF-100 w/ Speed Stir