Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Help high level of chlorine

  1. Back To Top    #1

    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Location
    San Diego, Ca
    Posts
    4

    Help high level of chlorine

    PH 7.2
    FC 25
    CC 2
    TA 140
    CH over 625
    CYA 60

    I have very high level of chlorine and need to bring them down to a swimmable level. Iím not sure I believe the calcium number. I have running the FC test four tests. Yesterday, I set my intellichor output to zero. 24 hours later the chlorine level has not dropped. Can anyone tell me whatís going on?

    Background: we recently bought this house and the pool has been maintained by a pool service company for about 2 years. The pool service guy was using chlorine pucks to maintain the pool Ė we took them out. The salt water system went in about three weeks ago. We bought the test kit since we want to start maintaining the pool ourselves. Our tests (assuming we are doing them right, and we did them 4 times just to be sure) show the above chlorine and calcium levels Ė which are really high. We donít know why we are getting such high readings and why the pool guy didnít catch this problem.

    One strange factor: The intellichor showed a salt level of 2300 before any salt was added to the pool. Salt was added until the pool reached 3500. Can years of potassium softener water account for the initial salt level? I do not think the pool has been drained in the two years we have owned the house.
    15,000 gallons, IG, pebble, Overflow spa, Sta-Rite PLM300 cartridge filter, Pentair Intelliflo-VS pump, Intellichlor IC-40, Pentair easy touch, Pentair MasterTemp 400K, eco-SPARK solar panels, waterfall feature with separate pump, Hayward TigerShark, TF100, San Diego City water through a water softener using potassium.

  2. Back To Top    #2

    TFP Guide


    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    1,123

    Re: Help high level of chlorine

    Hi Jamail, and Welcome to TFP,

    As far as your numbers goes with the FC being above 10ppm your pH reading will not be accurate, so there's no need to test pH anymore right now.

    The CH and TA are too high, but we can work to get those down hopefully without draining for the CH. Here is the recommended levels and the goals to shoot for. http://www.troublefreepool.com/conte...mmended-levels


    As far as it being safe to swim it will be at 24ppm which is your shock level for your CYA of 60ppm. It is safe to swim at shock level, or below per TFP's chlorine/CYA chart.
    http://www.troublefreepool.com/conte...art-slam-shock

    But the CC of 2 is suggesting that there is algae/organics, and if that's the case, the only way to get it killed out is to do a SLAM http://www.troublefreepool.com/conte...tain-shockingl until you pass the 3 criteria listed in the link
    1) an overnight FC loss of 1.0ppm or less, 2) A CC level of 0.5ppm or less, and 3)crystal clear water.

    How does your water look?

    As far as the Intellichlor and the salt levels, I'm sorry I can't answer those questions, but I'm sure someone will be along shortly who can.

    Here are a couple more links for you to review: http://www.troublefreepool.com/conte...ater-chemistry
    http://www.troublefreepool.com/calc.html

    I know this is a lot of info but we are here to help you get all your issues resolved. Again welcome to TFP, and Have a wonderful night.
    24' Round x 4.5 ft deep AGP (15,200 Gallons), Vinyl Liner, Hayward Vari Flo XL Sand Filter- (model SP0714T1),
    TFTestkits , PoolMath , Pool School, RECOMMENDED LEVELS, SLAM & the Chlorine/CYA CHART. Support this Site! TFP Totally Rocks.

  3. Back To Top    #3

    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Location
    San Diego, Ca
    Posts
    4

    Re: Help high level of chlorine

    Crackerjack4u, Thanks for the reply.

    The pool is very clear. I can see the palm tree seeds (about half inch size) on the bottom in the deep end.

    If I understand correctly, the only way to lower the calcium is to replace water. According to pool math I would need around a 28% (4200 gallons) water change. San Diego has very hard water so, I assume I would need the water softener on line?

    Thanks again,
    John
    15,000 gallons, IG, pebble, Overflow spa, Sta-Rite PLM300 cartridge filter, Pentair Intelliflo-VS pump, Intellichlor IC-40, Pentair easy touch, Pentair MasterTemp 400K, eco-SPARK solar panels, waterfall feature with separate pump, Hayward TigerShark, TF100, San Diego City water through a water softener using potassium.

  4. Back To Top    #4

    TFP Guide


    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    1,123

    Re: Help high level of chlorine

    Quote Originally Posted by jmail3451 View Post
    If I understand correctly, the only way to lower the calcium is to replace water. According to pool math I would need around a 28% (4200 gallons) water change. San Diego has very hard water so, I assume I would need the water softener on line?
    Thanks again, John
    I'm glad to hear the water is clear so whatever is causing your high CC levels hopefully won't take long to get killed out of there.

    Yes some people need to drain some of their water to lower their calcium levels, but there are several running with a level as high, or higher than yours, and doing fine. The CSI is what we need to monitor, and if we can balance your levels to keep your CSI in check to keep you from getting scaling then you may be able to get away with not having to drain and refill, but we'll have to see.

    Can you tell me what the ingredients are in the online water softener you are referring to, or are you referring to a device that does reverse osmosis, or ?

    Have you tested your fill water to see what the levels are when coming from the faucet? If not, I'd recommend testing it just to see what the fill levels are. There's no need to check CYA, as it has to be added, but you can check all the other levels.

    Also when checking your FC and CC levels since you've had to check it so many times already, you can use a 10ml sample of water, instead of a 25 ml water sample, and only need to add 1 scoop of powder (as long as it turns a nice med/dk pink it will test fine) When using the 10ml water sample each drop needs to be multiplied by 0.5. This will save reagents.

    Here is a handy link of all the Instructions for the Extended testing (The FC/CC directions are in comment #4) http://www.troublefreepool.com/threa...Kit-Directions


    I hope this helps, and have a wonderful night
    24' Round x 4.5 ft deep AGP (15,200 Gallons), Vinyl Liner, Hayward Vari Flo XL Sand Filter- (model SP0714T1),
    TFTestkits , PoolMath , Pool School, RECOMMENDED LEVELS, SLAM & the Chlorine/CYA CHART. Support this Site! TFP Totally Rocks.

  5. Back To Top    #5

    TFP Guide

    pabeader's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    Dallas Ga
    Posts
    4,064

    Re: Help high level of chlorine

    This is a simplification but it's accurate enough for this discussion. The way that SWGs read salt level is a little inaccurate. What they do is look at the ease of passing an electric current through the water. Based on the current that it reads, it outputs a number that it assumes is the salt level.
    A number of things can contribute, to this. Mostly it's salt, but any minerals will have an effect. Chlorine, over time will contribute a certain amount of salt to the water. I have recently been schooled on the effects of softened water and it also contributes salt to the water.

    So your original salt reading, before you added some, was probably from the softened water and pucks. Also, one last possibility, is some folks add salt just for the feel of the water.
    Bob - Palm Beach by San Juan Pools. approx 5000 gals., Pentair 320 cartridge filter (all new guts installed by me), Goldline SWG, 'New to me' Kreepy Krauly Sand Shark, Intermec 104 Timer Test kit: TF-100 w/Speed Stir

  6. Back To Top    #6

    In the Industry

    duraleigh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Sebring, Florida
    Posts
    30,078

    Re: Help high level of chlorine

    Well, just taking one issue for now, I am puzzled by your CH. I assume you have been using softened water which should have lowered your CH markedly. What is the CH of your fill water?

    Secondly, while you CH is high, it is not an emergency. Careful management of your pH and TA will prevent calcium scale and your softened fill water should start to bring CH down or hold steady.

    You could consider collecting rainwater bur keeping managed at 625 is doable.

    Make sure the SWG is completely off and the FC will come down......it has no choice.
    Dave S.
    42k vinyl and concrete pool, 1.5hp pump, 140gpm filter
    TFTestkits , PoolMath , Pool School

  7. Back To Top    #7
    DaninFLA's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    Sarasota, FL
    Posts
    1,011

    Re: Help high level of chlorine

    FC will fall, just let it fall, its not dangerously high. if you really need to lower FC for some reason, you can always use hydrogen peroxide, but it really isn't needed.

    your CH is definitely manageable.

    as far as your FC not dropping fast, well that's a good thing, it means you are algae free. that, along with lowering pool water temps and less sunlight contribute to lower FC demand.
    Dan
    9,000 gallon in-ground Saltwater pool, plaster, cartridge filer, 1.0 hp pump, Hayward T-15 SWCG, TF-100
    Pool School - Chlorine / CYA Chart; Pool School - Test Kits Compared;

  8. Back To Top    #8

    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Location
    San Diego, Ca
    Posts
    4

    Re: Help high level of chlorine

    First thanks for all the advice.

    New test numbers 10/18
    PH 7.5
    FC 17
    CC 1
    TA 100
    CH 1050
    CYA 60 (not retested).
    Pool Temp 77 F

    Should I be concerned about the 1 ppm CC reading? I know the SLAM level is 0.5 ppm.

    The Intellichlor has been set to 0% since 10/11. So, the pool is losing 8 FC per week with the cover off since 10/11. No idea if that is good or bad.

    We are heading out of town so, I have enabled the Intellichlor at 10% to prevent any problems. Not that I expect any but, I will not be here to monitor the pool.

    To answer Crackerjack4u Question, I have a normal water softener which uses potassium instead of sodium. For some reason the water softener also supplies water to the landscaping, which is why it is using potassium.

    In terms of the fill water, for at least two years that I know of, the water softener was broken. We got it repaired five months ago. I have no way of know if any water has ever been drained from the pool. I know for the two years we have owned the house it has not been drained.

    Thanks again
    John
    15,000 gallons, IG, pebble, Overflow spa, Sta-Rite PLM300 cartridge filter, Pentair Intelliflo-VS pump, Intellichlor IC-40, Pentair easy touch, Pentair MasterTemp 400K, eco-SPARK solar panels, waterfall feature with separate pump, Hayward TigerShark, TF100, San Diego City water through a water softener using potassium.

  9. Back To Top    #9


    TFP Guide

    domct203's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Location
    CT
    Posts
    3,375

    Re: Help high level of chlorine

    Quote Originally Posted by jmail3451 View Post
    First thanks for all the advice.

    New test numbers 10/18
    PH 7.5
    FC 17
    CC 1
    TA 100
    CH 1050
    CYA 60 (not retested).
    Pool Temp 77 F

    Should I be concerned about the 1 ppm CC reading? I know the SLAM level is 0.5 ppm.

    The Intellichlor has been set to 0% since 10/11. So, the pool is losing 8 FC per week with the cover off since 10/11. No idea if that is good or bad.

    We are heading out of town so, I have enabled the Intellichlor at 10% to prevent any problems. Not that I expect any but, I will not be here to monitor the pool.

    To answer Crackerjack4u Question, I have a normal water softener which uses potassium instead of sodium. For some reason the water softener also supplies water to the landscaping, which is why it is using potassium.

    In terms of the fill water, for at least two years that I know of, the water softener was broken. We got it repaired five months ago. I have no way of know if any water has ever been drained from the pool. I know for the two years we have owned the house it has not been drained.

    Thanks again
    John
    Are you absolutely sure about that CH level? Seven days ago you reported a CH of 625ppm, yesterday you reported a CH of 1050ppm, almost double.

    Are you using Cal-Hypo shock?

    Dom
    Last edited by domct203; 10-19-2015 at 04:28 AM. Reason: Removed chlorine question due to SWG
    Dom - TFP Guide
    Intex 18' X 48" Ultra Frame AGP 6700 gallons | Two Intex CS8110 SWG's | Hayward Pro Series 21" Sandfilter | Hayward 1.5HP Power Flo Matrix pump | Hayward Thru-wall Skimmer | Wanda the Whale | 72 sq ft of Sungrabber Solar Panels with Hayward GLC-2P-A | Taylor K2006 Test Kit, Sample Sizer & Speed Stir | Click Here To Become a TFP Supporter!

  10. Back To Top    #10

    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Location
    San Diego, Ca
    Posts
    4

    Re: Help high level of chlorine

    No, Cal-Hypo.

    Yes, poor testing of CH on the first pass. After the first round of tests I got the speedstir to work, and had my wife perform the tests as I watched. Plus for some reason, I incorrectly thought CH test was not accurate with high FC.

    Sorry, for the confusion.

    John
    15,000 gallons, IG, pebble, Overflow spa, Sta-Rite PLM300 cartridge filter, Pentair Intelliflo-VS pump, Intellichlor IC-40, Pentair easy touch, Pentair MasterTemp 400K, eco-SPARK solar panels, waterfall feature with separate pump, Hayward TigerShark, TF100, San Diego City water through a water softener using potassium.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •