Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 38

Thread: Algae problem maybe

  1. Back To Top    #1

    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Location
    Mobile Al
    Posts
    44

    Algae problem maybe

    New pool owner here. We live in Mobile, Al. We have a 24,000 gal vinyl pool with a sand filter. Being a new pool guy I didnít know all the essentials to maintain a pool and the Chlorine level dropped and we had algae. Itís been a couple weeks and Leslie pool store said we have mustard algae, simply by a description of brushing it to a plume in the morning and color. It seems to be throughout the pool and on diagonals into the deep end. Mistakenly I shocked with powder chlorine and added tabs to inline chlorinator ( understand now thatís a no no ) and the CYA level is now up. Iíll post some pics and see it that helps. I want to say itís pollen since the FC level has been over 10ppm for weeks and it hasnít improved, but then again maybe I didnít shock it to a high enough FC level.
    Should I pump it down, maybe during a vacuum to waste to clean the bottom and lower the CYA.
    Any help is greatly appreciated
    What do ya think?
    Attachment 43212Attachment 43213Attachment 43214

  2. Back To Top    #2
    Texas Splash's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    South-Central Texas, Marion/San Antonio
    Posts
    12,947

    Re: Algae problem maybe

    Hello! If we were to assume the pool store test were close (which we usually don't rely upon), your CYA is one major issue. It's extremely hard to keep the pool properly sanitized when the CYA is over 100. First and foremost though, before you try to remedy the situation, I highly encourage your to get your own test kit. I recommend the TF-100 (link below) as it uses Taylor reagents but in larger capacities which is a better value. Until you can test the water on your own with accurate results, you may be adding chemical not warranted. Until you can get your own test kit, simply add one gallon of regular liquid bleach to your water each day. When you get the test kit, post a full set of numbers and we can advise you from there. We look forward to hearing from you again. Let us know if you have any more questions.
    Pat (a.k.a. Texas Splash) ~ My Pool: Viking Fiberglass; 17,888 Gal; Waterway Supreme 2-sp/2-hp pump; Hayward Ctg filter; TF-100 w/ Speed Stir
    Vital Links: POOL SCHOOL, RECOMMENDED LEVELS, RECOMMENDED CHEMICALS, Poolmath Calculator, SLAM, Chlorine/CYA CHART.
    If you enjoyed your TFP experience, please consider donating to Support TFP!

  3. Back To Top    #3
    Patrick_B's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Midland TX
    Posts
    15,001

    Re: Algae problem maybe

    Welcome to TFP!

    You could have well over 100 Cya, but it's hard to know without your own testing. Often, it's higher than pool store testing but it's a guess. I would suggest getting your own kit to be sure, and begin a study of pool school. Re-read the ABCs, and ask all the questions you need to. Adding pucks or shock isn't bad on its own, but adding things without your own kit to test, then determine the need for, and results of additions will get you in trouble. No problem though, with a little knowledge and good test results you can like this out quite easily.
    TFP Moderator
    Essential Links:
    ABC's Of Pool Chemistry, Test Kits, SLAM Your Pool
    28K Gal IG FreeForm, CLI Quartz, Pentair 36"SF & VS Pump, Dolphin M5, Rheem

  4. Back To Top    #4

    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Location
    Mobile Al
    Posts
    44

    Re: Algae problem maybe

    Thanks for the advise thus far. I'll get a kit on order and go from there. Is the idea to add bleach daily to keep the FC up in relation to the CYA?

    Do the pictures look anything like mustard algae?

  5. Back To Top    #5
    Texas Splash's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    South-Central Texas, Marion/San Antonio
    Posts
    12,947

    Re: Algae problem maybe

    Right now, the gallon per day is simply to keep things from getting too much worse. It won't remove all the algae. The pics looks like regular algae so far. Regardless though, the treatment for MA is the same as regular algae, with one exception at the end which we can address later when you get your kit. When you get your kit, you'll need to "SLAM" via the link below in my sig. So you should get familiar with that in advance.

    Also, please add your pool info to your signature by going to the top of the TFP web page (just under the Pool School button) and select "SETTINGS". On the next page look to the left for a menu bar that says, “MY SETTINGS” and go to "EDIT SIGNATURE" to enter your pool and equipment info there. It will help us later.

    One more suggestion - consider requesting the "speed stir". It makes mixing so much easier.
    Pat (a.k.a. Texas Splash) ~ My Pool: Viking Fiberglass; 17,888 Gal; Waterway Supreme 2-sp/2-hp pump; Hayward Ctg filter; TF-100 w/ Speed Stir
    Vital Links: POOL SCHOOL, RECOMMENDED LEVELS, RECOMMENDED CHEMICALS, Poolmath Calculator, SLAM, Chlorine/CYA CHART.
    If you enjoyed your TFP experience, please consider donating to Support TFP!

  6. Back To Top    #6

    In the Industry

    duraleigh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Sebring, Florida
    Posts
    30,081

    Re: Algae problem maybe

    Do the pictures look anything like mustard algae?
    No. Mustard typically grows in a thin film on the shady WALLS of your pool.....it doesn't settle into the steps.
    Dave S.
    42k vinyl and concrete pool, 1.5hp pump, 140gpm filter
    TFTestkits , PoolMath , Pool School

  7. Back To Top    #7

    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Location
    Mobile Al
    Posts
    44

    Re: Algae problem maybe

    TF-100 is on its and way, with speed stir. Been adding a gal of bleach each day. I'll post back with test results.
    Thanks again TFP!
    40 x 18, in-ground Grecian. Blue vinyl, 24K Gal. 1 HP GE pump, 4 returns, 1 skimmer, Pentair 320 inline chlorinator, 3/4 vaccum pump, Hayward Pro series 3.1 sq ft sand filter with vari flo XL valve, Aquadyne pump timer. TF-100 test kit

  8. Back To Top    #8

    TFP Guide

    Catanzaro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    Monmouth County, New Jersey
    Posts
    2,178

    Re: Algae problem maybe

    Welcome to TFP and congratulations on the purchase of the TF-100 Test Kit. Hopefully you purchased the Speed-Stir.

    So you become comfortable with testing, below are the videos for the TF-100 kit. Please follow the instructions on the laminated card.

    https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCNF...9Y_YYNAeLtUr1g

    We suspect your CYA could be higher then 100, and it is recommended that you perform a "dilution CYA test". Mix 50% tap water and 50% pool water (shake well) and use this for your testing. Then multiply by 2. If your CYA test is 80, then your true CYA is 160. This should be your first test as the SLAM level to clear up your pool all is based on your CYA. Depending on your CYA level, we may recommend that you replace some water before starting the SLAM process. Please keep us posted!
    14,700 gallons IG Pool Vinyl Liner - Octal Circulation System
    Hayward Pro-Series 350 LB. Sand Filter Model # S270T - 2" Plumping
    Hayward CL2002 Chlorinator - Hayward Super Pump 2 HP Model # k48m2n111
    Hayward AQR9 SWG 25K Salt Cell & TF-100 Test Kit + Speed Stir
    Gulfstream HE125RA - 117K BTU Heat Pump - Date of Build is 11-2013

  9. Back To Top    #9

    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Location
    Mobile Al
    Posts
    44

    Re: Algae problem maybe

    Catanzaro,

    Thanks for the advice. Speed stir is on its way as well.

    Looking through the Pool School info, I didn't see any numbers for draining and refilling based on high CYA levels. If my test reveals high CYA levels anyone have an idea of how much water needs to be replaced?

    thanks again!
    40 x 18, in-ground Grecian. Blue vinyl, 24K Gal. 1 HP GE pump, 4 returns, 1 skimmer, Pentair 320 inline chlorinator, 3/4 vaccum pump, Hayward Pro series 3.1 sq ft sand filter with vari flo XL valve, Aquadyne pump timer. TF-100 test kit

  10. Back To Top    #10

    In the Industry

    duraleigh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Sebring, Florida
    Posts
    30,081

    Re: Algae problem maybe

    If my test reveals high CYA levels anyone have an idea of how much water needs to be replaced?
    It's a direct replacement. If your CYA is 100 and you would like 50, replace 50% of your water.
    Dave S.
    42k vinyl and concrete pool, 1.5hp pump, 140gpm filter
    TFTestkits , PoolMath , Pool School

  11. Back To Top    #11
    Mod Squad tim5055's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    Columbia, SC
    Posts
    8,495

    Re: Algae problem maybe

    Quote Originally Posted by duraleigh View Post
    It's a direct replacement. If your CYA is 100 and you would like 50, replace 50% of your water.
    If you are math challenged like me Pool Math will make all your calculations for you.
    TFP Moderator 39 X 18 23,000(ish) freeform gunite; built 2007ish; Pentair Triton II TR100 600lb Sand filter; 2 HP Pentair pump with 2.2 HP AO Smith single speed motor; 2 skimmers, 1 main drain, 4 returns w/waterfall, Stenner 45MHP2 3GPD running@ 60% - 15 gal Tank; heated by the sun CYA 200+ when I started - 50 now. Dolphin Supreme M5 Pool Cleaner. Hot Springs SX Spa, 285 gallon

  12. Back To Top    #12
    Mod Squad kimkats's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Tallahassee, FL
    Posts
    26,689

    Re: Algae problem maybe

    I would also be brushing your pool so it does not make stains or get too much worse. Brushing will get it up into the water for the bleach to grab it and start working on it!

    Kim
    TFP Moderator 33x52 round AG 25,600 gals Sand Filter 1.5hp Pump - 2 Speed, SLAM, Pool School, Recommended Levels, Recommended Chemicals, Pool Math, Chlorine/CYA Chart, TF-100 Test Kit

  13. Back To Top    #13

    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Location
    Mobile Al
    Posts
    44

    Re: Algae problem maybe

    Test kit came early!

    CYA - 160 - used the 1/2 pool and 1/2 tap water method
    FC - 21
    CC -.5
    PH - 7.2
    TA - 130
    CH - 125

    Pool math says I need to replace 75% of the water. OUCH! Any advice for this with for a vinyl pool? Guess I need to start here and get my CYA levels good.
    40 x 18, in-ground Grecian. Blue vinyl, 24K Gal. 1 HP GE pump, 4 returns, 1 skimmer, Pentair 320 inline chlorinator, 3/4 vaccum pump, Hayward Pro series 3.1 sq ft sand filter with vari flo XL valve, Aquadyne pump timer. TF-100 test kit

  14. Back To Top    #14
    Mod Squad tim5055's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    Columbia, SC
    Posts
    8,495

    Re: Algae problem maybe

    Quote Originally Posted by CtP View Post
    Test kit came early!

    CYA - 160 - used the 1/2 pool and 1/2 tap water method
    FC - 21
    CC -.5
    PH - 7.2
    TA - 130
    CH - 125

    Pool math says I need to replace 75% of the water. OUCH! Any advice for this with for a vinyl pool? Guess I need to start here and get my CYA levels good.
    What is your fill water source, City water or well?

    With a vinyl pool you want to always maintain at least a foot or two of water in the shallow end. Draining more than that can let the liner shift/float.
    TFP Moderator 39 X 18 23,000(ish) freeform gunite; built 2007ish; Pentair Triton II TR100 600lb Sand filter; 2 HP Pentair pump with 2.2 HP AO Smith single speed motor; 2 skimmers, 1 main drain, 4 returns w/waterfall, Stenner 45MHP2 3GPD running@ 60% - 15 gal Tank; heated by the sun CYA 200+ when I started - 50 now. Dolphin Supreme M5 Pool Cleaner. Hot Springs SX Spa, 285 gallon

  15. Back To Top    #15

    TFP Guide

    Catanzaro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    Monmouth County, New Jersey
    Posts
    2,178

    Re: Algae problem maybe

    OUCH! Any advice for this with for a vinyl pool?
    .. For starters, no more pool store testing.

    .. You will need to replace a minimum 50% of your water. This should bring your CYA low enough to actually start the SLAM process, and while SLAM is occurring, then you can replace the additional water needed to your comfortable level. If you are planning on closing the pool, a level of 60-70 could be acceptable as you could always lower your level in the spring and the CYA may drop during the winter months. For some reason, I always seem to loose 20 ppm during the winter.

    .. Your TA is also probably high, but your PH is low. Usually a high TA has a higher PH. Did you wipe the dropper bottle while performing the TA test? This could lead a high false reading. The 3" tablets could have contributed to the lower PH as well.

    Next year, you may find that your PH will have a tendency to drift upwards pretty quickly based on higher TA, so please keep an eye on PH and test daily, if needed. And as Tim mentions (Drain/Fill) and repeat process so the liner does not develop wrinkles, shifts or floats.
    14,700 gallons IG Pool Vinyl Liner - Octal Circulation System
    Hayward Pro-Series 350 LB. Sand Filter Model # S270T - 2" Plumping
    Hayward CL2002 Chlorinator - Hayward Super Pump 2 HP Model # k48m2n111
    Hayward AQR9 SWG 25K Salt Cell & TF-100 Test Kit + Speed Stir
    Gulfstream HE125RA - 117K BTU Heat Pump - Date of Build is 11-2013

  16. Back To Top    #16

    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Location
    Mobile Al
    Posts
    44

    Re: Algae problem maybe

    Water source is from the city, lake fed.

    I did wipe the bottle with a damp paper towel between drops.

    I have been using baking soda to raise PH. At the time I didn’t realize Borax was an option to raise PH without raising Alkilinity?

    Guess I’ll start draining. I’ll take the CYA to the 60-70 and see what happens over the winter. We do plan to close the pool. Would you recommend filling to the normal level for the SLAM process then drain?


    Thanks for the feedback!!
    40 x 18, in-ground Grecian. Blue vinyl, 24K Gal. 1 HP GE pump, 4 returns, 1 skimmer, Pentair 320 inline chlorinator, 3/4 vaccum pump, Hayward Pro series 3.1 sq ft sand filter with vari flo XL valve, Aquadyne pump timer. TF-100 test kit

  17. Back To Top    #17
    Mod Squad tim5055's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    Columbia, SC
    Posts
    8,495

    Re: Algae problem maybe

    Quote Originally Posted by CtP View Post
    I have been using baking soda to raise PH. At the time I didn’t realize Borax was an option to raise PH without raising Alkilinity?

    Guess I’ll start g. I’ll take the CYA to the 60-70 and see what happens over the winter. We do plan to close the pool. Would you recommend filling to the normal level for the SLAM process then drain?


    Thanks for the feedback!!
    Baking soda is used to adjust TA, not pH.

    If you are going to SLAM then you have to bring it to normal level so you have access to the skimmers and water circulation. You want the chlorine everywhere so it can find/kill all the bad stuff.
    TFP Moderator 39 X 18 23,000(ish) freeform gunite; built 2007ish; Pentair Triton II TR100 600lb Sand filter; 2 HP Pentair pump with 2.2 HP AO Smith single speed motor; 2 skimmers, 1 main drain, 4 returns w/waterfall, Stenner 45MHP2 3GPD running@ 60% - 15 gal Tank; heated by the sun CYA 200+ when I started - 50 now. Dolphin Supreme M5 Pool Cleaner. Hot Springs SX Spa, 285 gallon

  18. Back To Top    #18

    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Location
    Mobile Al
    Posts
    44

    Re: Algae problem maybe

    Quote Originally Posted by tim5055 View Post
    Baking soda is used to adjust TA, not pH.

    If you are going to SLAM then you have to bring it to normal level so you have access to the skimmers and water circulation. You want the chlorine everywhere so it can find/kill all the bad stuff.

    Thanks for the clarification. Pumping to waste now and I’ll keep the thread updated with progress.

    TFP!!
    40 x 18, in-ground Grecian. Blue vinyl, 24K Gal. 1 HP GE pump, 4 returns, 1 skimmer, Pentair 320 inline chlorinator, 3/4 vaccum pump, Hayward Pro series 3.1 sq ft sand filter with vari flo XL valve, Aquadyne pump timer. TF-100 test kit

  19. Back To Top    #19

    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Location
    Mobile Al
    Posts
    44

    Re: Algae problem maybe

    I drained it down to 2 feet in shallow end and refilled. Added a gallon of bleach tonight.
    At what point should I retest CYA?
    Is it important to maintain FC Levels relative to CYA during the drain & refill stage?
    Definitely need to slam after this, pool is getting green.

  20. Back To Top    #20
    Mod Squad tim5055's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    Columbia, SC
    Posts
    8,495

    Re: Algae problem maybe

    You can retest CYA once the pool is full and it has circulated for an hour or so.
    TFP Moderator 39 X 18 23,000(ish) freeform gunite; built 2007ish; Pentair Triton II TR100 600lb Sand filter; 2 HP Pentair pump with 2.2 HP AO Smith single speed motor; 2 skimmers, 1 main drain, 4 returns w/waterfall, Stenner 45MHP2 3GPD running@ 60% - 15 gal Tank; heated by the sun CYA 200+ when I started - 50 now. Dolphin Supreme M5 Pool Cleaner. Hot Springs SX Spa, 285 gallon

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •