Slugs cemetery in my crystal clear salt water

Hi,

I'm a newbie to pools and this site.

We left the country for a few weeks and our pool became a green swamp. After a few days of shocking, supercholrinating (on SWG) and scrubbing, I managed to turn it pristine again. The only MAJOR issue now is the DISGUSTING slugs in it!

So, I vacuumed, used the net, ran the filter and backwashed. It was beautiful slug-free again! Now, 4-5 days later the water is still pristine but there are slugs and slimy long thin things curled up at the bottom again ? WTH?? Why are there slugs? Where are they coming from? It's only 3 months I have this pool. I have trees around it...and the season is slowly changing....could this be (gulp) normal ??

I wanted to enjoy my heated salt water a little longer since the weather is beautiful. But I won't step foot in that infested Petrie dish!

Help!

i get centipedes in my pool all the time. About 2 per day. They're attracted to the water I guess? They don't drink much and it takes just seconds to either scoop them out with the net or vacuum them up with our handy little portable vac. The water is still pristine looking.

No harm, no foul. Now if it were frogs or something....*then* I would be upset.

Hi Naonah, and Welcome to TFP, :wave:

So you got yourself a slug problem in your pool. I'm so sorry. There's nothing any worse then having unexpected, and uninvited slimy guests swimming in your pool, so let's see if we can figure out a way to get them to stay away.

1st thing do you ever see them getting in, or do you only see them after the fact?

Having been a not so nice kid, I know full well what a box of salt will do to a slug in just a matter of seconds, so I suspect that is what the slimy long things are in there is the salt dissolving the slugs. YUCK.

I have several things you can try to see if you can get them to stay out of the pool. These are actually remedies to keep them out of your garden but they should work for a pool as well.