Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Swim spa: pool or spa?

1. Back To Top    #1

Swim spa: pool or spa?

I am a newbie (have had the swim spa for 3 months) and just getting set up in TFP. I have a swim spa that stays covered when not in use. I use it ~4 times/week, 1-2 hours per use. Since I exercise in it, sweat and saliva are probably a consideration (TMI?). The temperature is usually around 80-82 degrees, not typical spa temperature. BTW, I just ordered a TF 100 test kit. Up until now, I've been naively using test strips.

My question is on PoolMath, should I establish goals using pool or spa criteria?
    -Just call me Julie
    Master Spas Michael Phelps Impact swim spa, 1525 gallons, AG, 3 cartridge filters including 1 Eco-Pur mineral filter, currently under drought water restrictions

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: Swim spa: pool or spa?

It sounds like a pool to me so I'd treat it as such. Welcome to TFP!
    ----Chris----
    25k IG/Spa Figure 8, 18x36, Pebble Sheen Blue Granite, Sta-Rite S8M150 Cartridge Filter, Pentair 460805 400k BTU Heater & 011018 IntelliFlo VarSpd
    Liquidator, Fafco Solar Heat, Polaris PB460 Booster Pump w/280 cleaner, Katchaleaf Cover, TF100 Test Kit, FAKE MAIN DRAIN

3. Back To Top    #3

Thanks, Chris. Appreciate the input.
    -Just call me Julie
    Master Spas Michael Phelps Impact swim spa, 1525 gallons, AG, 3 cartridge filters including 1 Eco-Pur mineral filter, currently under drought water restrictions

4. Back To Top    #4

I would tend to treat it like a pool, but one that does not get much UV exposure and may need a source of supplemental oxidation either chemical like MPS or an Ozonator.
    Indoor 20x40 35,000 gallon vinyl pool with 1.5 HP 2 speed Jandy FloPro pump, Hayward EC75 Perflex DE filter, 11 4x12 Techno-Solis solar panels w/ Aquasolar controller, Aquabot Turbo T Robot Cleaner. Also LMI metering chlorine dispenser pump and HotSpring Jetsetter