Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Cartridge filter Ring Bursted

1. Back To Top    #1

Cartridge filter Ring Bursted

I have a Cartridge filter- Pentair Pool Product..
    I dont know the model number as it is not mentioned on the filter (the sticker on it mention 5 model- CC50, CC75, CC100, CC150, CC200).

Yesterday evening there was a crack in the ring (which lock the filter) and there was water leaking out of it and pool water was half empty.

I'm relatively new to the pool.
    1) Can someone please let me know how can there be a crack in the ring?
    2) If it is because of the high pressure shall I change the Cartridge filter. Exactly which Cartridge should I by (50sq/ft, 75sq/ft, 100sq/ft, 150sq/ft)?
    3) How often shall I change the Cartridge?

I appreciate someone's feedback. Thanks for your time.

Regards,
    Aj
    Year built: 2000, 16,000 Gallon, In Ground Pebble pool- 90' perimeter/19'*35'(W*L), Pentair Pool filter, 200 sq.ft. cartridge filter, Jandy energy filter, Polaris 360 pool Cleaner, Clear Vision natural water purifier : Model XG, Century centurion pump motor (HP 2.0, Hz: 60, Type: CX), Jandy valve (JVA 2440), Pool heating- Delta family (120V, 60Hz, 3 amps), Aqualink RS6 pool/spa control

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: Cartridge filter Ring Bursted

AJ, there are a few details that come into play with your question. First the filter housing ring that broke. I'm assuming that is the metal/aluminum ring that goes around the belly of the filter housing and secures the top to the bottom correct? It could've broken for any numbers of reasons, but the two that really come to mind are "age" and "stress fracture", perhaps from not being tightened or secured properly at some point in the past. That's a shame, but things like that do happen. All you can do is look for your filter housing model number, do some on-line searches and order a replacement. That should be a relatively easy fix.