Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: closing pool

1. Back To Top    #1

closing pool

Hello Everyone, We are going to close our pool for the winter and I was wondering do I need to pump out water below the return jets or can I just cap the line return lines in the pool and then blowout the lines from where the pump sits through the skimmer I am only asking because I am adding winterizing chemicals and then going to pump the water below jets I am a beginner just curious.

Thank You, Bobby G
    15000 GALLON POOL/ VINYL LINER
    SWG/ T-3 HAYWARD TURRBO CELL
    PENTAIR CC200 CARTRIDGE FILTER SYSTEM
    HAYWARD SUPER PUMP 3/4 HP
    RAYPAK HEATER

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: closing pool

Hello Bobby. I see you have a vinyl pool, but I wasn't sure if it was in-ground or above, so I'm providing you with both pages so you can use the one that applies:
    Pool School - Closing (Winterizing) Your Above Ground Pool
    Pool School - Closing an In Ground Pool
    Start with these, and if you still have questions, just let us know. Have a nice day.
    Pat (a.k.a. Texas Splash) ~ My Pool: Viking Fiberglass; 17,888 Gal; Waterway Supreme 2-sp/2-hp pump; Hayward Ctg filter; TF-100 w/ Speed Stir
    Vital Links: POOL SCHOOL, RECOMMENDED LEVELS, RECOMMENDED CHEMICALS, Poolmath Calculator, SLAM, Chlorine/CYA CHART.
    If you enjoyed your TFP experience, please consider donating to Support TFP!

3. Back To Top    #3

How are you going to blow out those lines with one capped is my question.
    16x32x52" Steel Cornelius Miramar AGP Vinyl liner 13,100 gal. Buried 2 ft.
    2 Speed Hayward Power-Flo Matrix 85 g.p.m. 22" 250lb. sand filter hard plumbed
    Pool Rover Jr., Pool Blaster Max, Diver Dave TF100 Test Kit/Speed Stir
    Margaritaville Frozen Concoction Maker, Liqour Chiller, & Drink Mixer & Party Tub----Collect 'um all!

4. Back To Top    #4

TFP Guide