Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: How to keep your pool okay with least maintenance possible?

1. Back To Top    #1

Question How to keep your pool okay with least maintenance possible?

Hi,
    Just bought a house with an in-ground liner pool. I'm totally new to pool things. As summer is more or less finished for us, I'm looking into ways to keep the pool "aesthetically clean" with least maintenance possible. I don't want to run the pump all day as I don't like the noise it creates nor I want to spend time doing with chemical things everyday. My ideal goal would be to make the pool a clean pond in my backyard. I don't mind seeing some green dust in the pool as long as the water doesn't stink and I can clean up later once the summer begins. Am I asking too much?
    Thanks.

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: How to keep your pool okay with least maintenance possible?

so you want to find a way to create an algae filled pool? um...if you like green pools, then just ask the pool store to give you advice

we are all about accurate testing and adding chemicals as needed and keeping the pool crystal clear. not really sure what you are asking, are you looking to close the pool for the winter? if so, we have instructions for that. need some more info what you are looking for.

here are the pool closing instructions: Pool School - Closing an In Ground Pool

you basically shut down the pool, the pump isn't running, etc
    Dan
    9,000 gallon in-ground Saltwater pool, plaster, cartridge filer, 1.0 hp pump, Hayward T-15 SWCG, TF-100
    Pool School - Chlorine / CYA Chart; Pool School - Test Kits Compared;

3. Back To Top    #3

TFP Guide

Heck, it's going to freeze soon, so it won't be stinky.

Seriously, though. I used to live in Detroit, MI when I was younger. I would read the sections on closing a pool and do what it recommends. Then be ready for next year!!