Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: CYA Increasing Over Time

1. Back To Top    #1

Unhappy CYA Increasing Over Time

Hello All,

As a newbie, I have been testing my water on a weekly basis to include pH, Alkalinity, Free and Combined Chlorine, CYA, Hardness and Salt levels utilizing a Taylor K2006-S test kit. I have learned on a general level, how my pool reacts to our environmental factors, etc. I have a good understanding of the chemistry changes, how long they take to occur, etc. in order to maintain the chemistry as close to the recommended ideal range as possible. But I have now come across an issue that I can't quite figure out and therefore, don't know how to correct it.

At the beginning of this season, I established the CYA (stabilizer) levels to the 30-50 ppm range. It held steady over the course of the hotter summer months, but has recently (over the past two to three weeks), has slowly increased up to the 80-100 ppm range. I add Baking Soda about every three weeks or so to bump up to alkalinity to the upper end of the ideal range of 80-100, and use muriatic acid to lower the pH on a weekly basis. Other than that, I add nothing. I use my Chlorine Generator to maintain the free Chlorine around 2-5 ppm mark with no issues.

I have read other threads on here about how CYA reacts and changes, but I can't find one that may explain this type of increase and what I can do to correct it.

Any help from the Jedi masters will be appreciated.
    11,700 Gallon Barrier Reef Oyster II In-ground Fiberglass, Saltwater with Pentair 305PX Aqua Comfort Chlorine Generator, Pentair Superflo Variable Speed Pump, and Pentair Clean & Clear 100 sq ft cartridge filter.

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: CYA Increasing Over Time